i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

Deception // 2003-04-21


Abby and I went to see the tulips on Sunday. We biked all over Skagit valley, looking at them. They were too beautiful for words, so I won't try to put them or that part of my Sunday into words. And I may be going up there again next weekend!

We also went to Deception Pass. It smelled exactly like what I thought the Pacific NW would smell like when I dreamed of moving here years ago - damp, piney, a little bit of sea. It was so beautiful! Blue-green tide rushing in around the giant granite island that stands jutting out of the sound like a fang. I want to go back and do some more hiking in that area. I wish I could just move to the San Juans and live there always. The islands around here are just so amazing. The problem is that what the heck kind of a job can one find in the San Juans supposing that one does not own or want to own a bed and breakfast or otherwise serve the touristing population? Could I have my precious international adoption job while living up there? I think not. But, at least I live nearby.

So it looks like John's got a new girlfriend already. See? I did him a favor by turning him loose. Now he can find someone who better deserves him.

I have to say though, I can't complain much about not finding someone for myself. I haven't tried very hard. It's been a long long time since someone has really sparked interest in me. Ok, maybe not THAT long... there was some excitement back in January, but that seems to have died out. Where are those people I used to stay up until 3AM talking to because they were so damn interesting? BookstoreBoy2 would have been one of them. Maybe I should search smarter - I'm not going to find my boy on nerve personals or through my lesbian friends... I'm not sure where or how I'll find him, but he is now being hunted. I'm watching out for you, Mr. Interesting-Coneversationalist! Come out come out wherever you are!

prev & next