i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

Couch Jamboree // 2003-04-07


We have a LOT of furniture in my house. I mean a LOT. We have 6 sofas if you count the one that is rotting on our porch. We don't usuall count that one because it's used more by the downstairs people than by us. It's been usurped, though, because I remember the day that Trevor and I carried it down there. Becca thinks we have so much furniture because we're suckers for free stuff. I think that it's the manifestation of our horder personalities. If you leave the four of us together in this house, someday in about 50 years you will come to visit us and find us with 36 sofas (some stacked on top of each other) 7 or 8 vacuum cleaners (currently we have two) the entire sun room/treehouse will be filled with plants - a veritable jungle (it's almost there already - come visit us in about 3 years and that prophesy will be true) all of our drawers will be filled with silverware (we already have one drawer overflowing) our tupperware will cover the entire kitchen counter (already it is poised and ready to spring out of the cabinet over the sink onto the head of any unsuspecting person who dares to look for a container for leftovers) we will have kept every yogurt container and cleaned it out to use to store our refried beans in. My room will be piled floor to ceiling with books - about 60% of which I will be in the middle of or not finished reading. We already have three sets of dishes at least. We have a cabinet full of mugs. We have two hammers - or maybe three, but that's a good thing since whenever I look for one, it's not there. We have two CD players on our kitchen counter. We have two sewing machines (neither of which are working right now, but one of them only needs a needle, I swear!). We currently have four fruit bowls full of fruit and onions. I expect that by the time we're 80, there will be at least 40 or 50. We have TONS of pots for plants under our kitchen sink. I can't bear to throw them out - I claim full responsibility for them. Obvsiously, we're going to be those women you read about with hundreds of cats and junk in every nook and cranny in the house.

Yet, somehow, other than the overflow of furniture, our house LOOKS fairly neat. Right now anyway.

Our surplus of couches has really gotten to me lately. I think that it was because ever since Amy's Italian party back in February, our dining room table was in the living room because it couldn't go back in the dining room because Amy had moved an extra couch in there (we already had one - this made two) since Quita had put her big wonderful cushy couch out in the treehouse. (Got that?) So we had a dining room table in the middle of the living room with dining room chairs strewn about the house hidden here and there, socializing with the other furniture. Also, Amy hates the pull out sofabed couch which took the place in our dining room. So Jess and I were going to move it when we did our great furniture shuffle the weekend before she moved, but that couch weighs at least 400 lbs if it weighs an ounce. We couldn't budge it. I have never seen anyone hate a couch so much as Amy hates that couch. Becca, however, loves the couch. She loves having a couch in our dining room. Not just anywhere in the dining room, though - we've always had a couch on one wall of the dining room - but right where the table should be. You see, whereas the surplus of couches bugs the shit out of Quita and I, and the one couch bugs the shit out of Amy, Becca loves all of the couches like her own little children. I think that this is because Becca is a great napper. Becca can nap anywhere at any time. She spends hours and hours on the phone, and when she's not on the phone, she's napping on a couch next to a phone. She's also been known to nap on the floor, the stairs, the laundry room, the bathtub... you'd almost think she had narcolepsy. Becca is like a cute little furry animal. She's sweet as can be, she snuggles up to you when she's feeling extra special sweet, she's loving and kind, and she naps all the time. She's just like a cat. Or a mouse. Or something. She doens't like being called 'cute' or 'sweet' too much though - she's short, and she takes the whole cute/sweet thing as not taking her seriously and talking down to her. But what would you call the nicest kindest warmest person you know?

And while I'm on the subject of my housemates and stereotypes, let me just tell you that whereas I know that the whole over-analytical-lesbian thing is a stereotype (and it's something people stereotype women as doing in general) but hoo-wee! My housemates can get together and the three of them can analyze one line in an e-mail that they recieved from someone they're interested in and analyze it for HOURS and HOURS. I am not kidding. I am not exaggerating. Now, I too can analyze a little 'xoxo' at the end of an e-mail for a good 15 minutes or so, but these wonderful ladies take the prize. Becca was deliberating over wether or not her little 'xoxo' at the end of an email was the cause for her current crush not to e-mail her back for a few days. I've gotten xoxo's before and not thought much of them - I just figure that it's how someone signs an e-mail at times, but after listening to Becca a few weeks ago... I started to think back on every xoxo I'd gotten and began to wonder... Oh, did I already write about that? Well, sorry if this is a repeat for any of you. But anyway. My housemates sure are characters. But they are the best group of girls I've ever lived with. (Well, Abby is totally awesome too, but I'm talking about the house as a unit now. Back when Abby lived here, we had a few unsavory characters.)

And now to be fair to everyone I just spilled the dirt on, I'm going to tell you about my major neurosis. I clean my room a lot. I've been "cleaning my room" since January. I come home every day and "clean my room" so much that my housemates joke about it. In actuality, I start to clean and then I find an interesting book/letter/bill I need to pay/major project I should do etc. and get distracted. I have a short attention span when it comes to room cleaning.

Anyone want a couch?

prev & next