i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

I'm trying to cut down on my caffeine consumption // 2003-03-15


So, yeah, I haven't written in a few days. Thanks for noticing, RDG.

I've been a crabby cantaknerous grumpy old lady the last few days. This is partly due to the fact that I've been tired and I've had terrible headaches. That might, in turn, be due to the fact that I haven't been getting much sleep, which in turn, is probably because I'm feeling highly stressed. You know... there's just stuff going on in all sectors of my life right now. Yeah.

But my co-workers think that the headaches have been because I didn't have any espresso-laced beverages in the last two days. At 11 this morning, they insisted that I go get a latte. I felt better after I drank it. I'm afraid I'm becoming one of those people who needs caffeine to get going. It's kind of embarassing. I'm going to have to cut myself off. Damn you, Dirt Monkey, for getting me hooked on mochas and lattes. I'd successfully lived in Seattle for a full two years without touching coffee of any sort before you came to visit!

I met someone who rides the bus with me in the afternoon. There's a group of people who get on together and apparently work together and therefore, ride the bus back to Seattle every day. The one I ended up walking back up Capitol Hill with happened to be from Ellicott City, Maryland too! NO ONE ever knows where EC is. People always ask me where I'm from in Maryland, but no one knows the geography at all, so when I tell them, it never makes any difference. Some people know Bethesda or Rockville... most people know Baltimore, but no one knows Ellicott City. And this guy actually has family there. Anyway, that makes my commute a little more bearable. Rideshare boys have been flakey. Also, I've taken to writing letters on the bus. I'm going to start bringing my knitting too. So now I'll have three choices for things to do when I ride the bus. I'll be knitting hats like nobody'b business!

I finally went to photo class again on Thursday. It was the first time since I started the new job. I got some good work done.

John and I went to see "Talk to Her" tonight. He kneed me at the part where Lydia says something like "It is the worst of all when you have to break up with someone you still love..." I'm having some boundary problems. When he's cold and distant from me, it makes me sad, but then when he's not being distant, he kisses me and stuff, and I feel like that's probably not the best either. It's harder than I thought to be friends with someone you used to go out with. I'm also having a hard time reserving enough time in my life for myself. I LIKE to be alone sometimes, but I don't seem to be able to be alone when I want to be these days.

Chris and I are planning a hiking/camping trip for this summer! I'm so excited! Chris is the greatest hiking partner for me because he doesn't move super-fast either because of his car accident back in college. So I don't feel guilty for holding him up all the time. I can walk forever without taking a break, but I never go very fast. When I went on my cross-country trip with Jess and Jer, we went hiking in Zion once - up to Angel's Landing - and I told them to go without me. I told them that I was going to hike up about half-way and then turn around and go back to the car and read or something. Anyway, point is, they hiked right up the mountain really fast, but took a lot of breaks. I went up slow and steady. We both got there at about the same time. They were quite surprised to see me. But at least I didn't make them resent me for slowing them down on the way up.

Other news? Not really. I hope that you are all well.

prev & next