i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

I have no witty topics // 2003-03-09


RDG had the brilliant idea that was should all get together and play boardgames one afternoon. So, this afternoon, Abby, RDG, Rachel, T-Rock, DonJuan, HottieBoy, Kirk and I got together to play Cranium and Scattegories. I had fun - I always love to get together with smallish groups for boardgames. I don't feel like I'm perpetually missing out on some important conversation when there are only a few people around - and I'm not as intimidated in smaller group-situations. Abby also finally got to meet the other people I hang out with.

We discussed the possibility of getting hooded sweatshirts and ironing on our neighborhood names on the backs of them and putting our nicknames on the front. I was trying to figure out what nickname I'd use. I guess I'd have to use "Itzie" or something. Rosie. I've never had a satisfactory nickname.

Abby and I headed back to her place while RDG and her crew went off to the FREE SXSW concert at the Showbox. We made red curry (hot hot hot!).

I'm so jealous of her place. I LOVE my neighborhood, and I really wouldn't want to move - I mean, really, I wouldn't want to be more than a few blocks from where I am right now. But... prices are dropping lower and lower... I was just looking at the paper and I found quite a few Capitol Hill apartments for under $600 with wood floors. There were even some one-bedrooms with hardwood floors in the $600 range. It's tempting!!

Quita and I had a little talk when I got back home. She just had a bad date thingy. We talked about all the awful things that people do to each other sometimes. I told her about one of my worst stories that I've actually never disclosed to anyone in full detail before. It was nice to really talk with her about something so personal for a change. We usually stick to more surface topics.

So tonight I finally turned everyone down for plans so that I could clean my room. It's not done, but I'm making progress! Yay! And my plans for tomorrow got cancelled so I can clean tomorrow too! I'm going to have the cleanest room EVER!

PS I also scored my highest Scrabble score ever today - 424!!!

prev & next