i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

Art imitates life imitates art imitates life // 2003-04-28


I bought my Dirty Three tickets today. Chris tells me that the guy who plays the electric fiddle spits on stage. Be still my beating heart. I'm a sucker for a man who spits on stage.

I discovered a new diary! Everyone go look at this one. It's been a while since I've struck out on my own to find a new diary. I've noticed that my little diaryland circle has been a tad on the incestuous side. We have a clique thing going on here.

You know what's really weird? When I started this diary, it was just that. It was a diary. But as time has gone on, I've met more and more people from here... either through here or through others and then they end up on here and now half of my Seattle friends are in Diaryland. So it can't really be just a diary anymore. I think that's why it has gotten harder and harder for me to write here. Before I was just spouting off knowing that most likely no one was going to read and if they did, I didn't know them or give a damn what they'd think of what I'd written. Now I care more about what my 'audience' thinks of me. Reading over my old entries, I can see a distinct shift in late January. Is this just due to the schedule and job change? Or is it because I was actually hanging out with lots of diaryland folks? Not that this is an all and all bad thing, mind you. I certainly welcome meeting new friends! But how often can one say that you met your friends through your diary? Your diary isn't supposed to affect your real life - it's supposed to be the other way around. I wasn't expecting to meet a whole crowd when I started writing.

Weird, huh?

prev & next