i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

meow meow meow meow meow meow // 2003-04-15


Someone has absconded with our kitchen trash can. No, it's not even really a trash can, but rather a green plastic bucket - a slimey green plastic bucket. Amy took the trash out the front door this morning, but then had to run around to the back door. She was gone for no more than ten minutes, but when she came back, our green bucket was gone. It's not like it was a nice clean bucket either - this is a trash can that has been under our kitchen sink for ages and occasionally, a stray spinach leaf might have fallen between the liner and the barrel creating a brown ooze splotch here... an orange peel causing another splotch there. I mean, it wasn't foul or anything, but it certainly wasn't clean. Why the hell someone needed this green bucket is beyond me, but if someone needs a dirty bucket that badly, I say let them have it! We'll take it as an opportunity to purchase a better trash can for our kitchen. May God (or the diety of your choice) help you if you need a slimey bucket that badly.

There are some aspects of my job that make me extra super cranky. I recently left my admin support job for the place where I am now, and boy do I appreciate myself so much more. Yes, I know that sounds totally cocky and self-assured, but let me tell you... these kids today... The admin support at my office (one totally annoying skippy girl and this dweeby, but despreately trying to be cool guy) LEAP at the opportunity to correct the rest of the office over any little tiny detail. It's like they know that they are the lowest on the totem pole and so they have to grab any chance that they can get to lord over the rest of the office. Not a day passes that we don't get an email addressed to the entire staff reminding us to "Please seal the large envelopes before putting them in the mail bin." "Check request days are on Tuesdays at 8:30AM!!! and Thursday at 12:30!!!!!!!" "Please break down your boxes and take them out to recycling." These are things that we all know to do. These are things that people have forgotten to do maybe once - but instead of waiting for it to be a problem, the support folks e-mail us all every time one little incident happens. So I made a mistake and ONE TIME dropped a big envelope in the mail bin without sealing it. I KNOW I'm supposed to do it, I just FORGOT one time. Good lord. I've gotten to the point where I open these emails from them and immedeately start reading them as such: "Blah blah blah blah" *delete* *roll eyes*. I accidentally did this out loud this morning much to the amusement of my co-worker sitting next to me. It won't be long before I start going "meow meow meow meow" outloud mimicking every word Angela says since I'm already doing that in my head too. (Angela being the skippy girl) This may all sound pompous and callous of me, but I was there too not so long ago and I KNOW how annoying it is when people don't follow the rules that you've set up for a smooth-flowing office environment, BUT you simply do NOT need to email everyone every time one minor infraction occurs. Thank you. I just needed to spout.

prev & next