i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

France, Goodbyes, Peeves, and the Exit // 2003-03-26


There was a francophile party here tonight, as I believe I mentioned before. Amy is THE woman when it comes to making good food. She made - from scratch - chocolate ice cream with candied orange rind and grand marnier sauce for desert. Also, there were creme brulees torched in our own kitchen! Overall, it was quite a success.

Abby stopped by for a bit, and Jessica was here. Tomorrow is Jess's last day in Seattle. Perhaps tonight is the last time I will see her. She's always been one of my very favorite people in the whole wide world, but I've never spent enough time with her. And one more of the grad school bound folks has left the nest.

I have a pet peeve to bitch about. Can I just say that I HATE people who KNOW that they are in a lane that is about to end, and yet they keep driving in it because it's all clear up to the point where they're supposed to merge, and then they weedle their way into the main line of traffic? Some of us patiently wait in the lane that doesn't end, and if everyone did that, the main line would move much faster because it wouldn't have to slow down for you ASSHOLES IN THE WRONG LANE. Thank you.

Yeah, so I have been driving Abby's car to work. I love it so much. I only feel guilty because I'm the only one in the car since those stupid rideshare boys have gone off on their own. I've always kind of secretly loathed people who drive alone in their cars to work - and now I am one of them. I understand it, but I just wish that we had faster public transportation so that it wasn't so much more significantly convenient to drive alone.

I got a lot of practice shifting into first gear today as I stop-and-go-ed through downtown. I decided not to chicken out and take the non-hilly Dearborn exit in favor of the closer to home Olive exit. Apparently, despite the great distance, the Dearborn exit is faster.

prev & next