i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

Yay is the word of the day. // 2003-03-22


Amy had a Moroccan Food party at our house this week. There were FIVE whole heterosexual men in the house. It was truly unreal. I was in such a state of shock that I couldn't bring myself to speak to any of them. Anyway, we sat on the floor and ate with our hands and had the most awesome meal.

Friday night was the night of two parties. I forgot to go to one though. It was pissing down rain. Mike-from-downstairs and I shared a cab over to Trevor's house. Trevor was one of our former housemates from the golden days here at Davaclav Hovel. The party started out small, which was super as far as I was concerned (I have a strong preference for parties of no more than 10). Eventually, however, the party got big and full of people I was too shy to talk to and whom I'd never met before.

**DIATRIBE WARNING**

Trevor told me about the protests in San Francisco. Has anyone else heard about the puke-ins? I think it's just GREAT! People are apparently drinking ipecac and puking at the federal buildlings shouting things like "Your war makes me sick!" I wish people here were more willing to fuck shit up. I know that I'm not, though. After the WTO protests, I have kind of lost my taste for going up against the Seattle Police. They're like fucking storm troopers and treat Seattle like a police state. They do things that they have no right doing and yet, the government continues to let them treat us however they please with no apparent punishment. The police in this city just have no accountability. The officer who knocked on the windows of a car asking the occupants inside filming the disaster on Broadway and then reached in and pepper-sprayed the women inside the car (who obviously were NOT protesting as they were IN A FUCKING CAR) and said "Film this, bitch" was put back in service, after a leave of absence. My hate for them knows no depth. I give them an evil eye and curse each and every one of the officers with impotence for the rest of their natural lives whenever I pass. Perhaps someday I will write here about the debacle on Broadway. It's amazing how people who live in this town and lived here then don't even know to this day what horrible things happened here that year. Anyway. Hooray for San Francisco and may more cities follow in their paths. And to those of you who argue that the war is already on and we should not protest it, I say to you, where do you think we would be now if people had not stood up and protested (and protested and protested) the Vietnam war? The point is that we do not support this war. We still don't support it now that it is going on. We are going to make damn sure that everyone knows that. Where would we be now if in the 60's, MLK and the people who boycotted the bus system in Alabama had not bothered to protest and protest and protest the status quo? Would you still say "Oh, segegation is already happening, why do you continue to protest it?" I think not. Furthermore, I belive that if we are loud enough, the fallacy of this 76% bullshit propaganda will be all too clear. I also think that it is important that the rest of the world knows that this is a very unpopular war at home - we are not monsters who make pre-emptive strikes, we merely elected (or rather, didn't even elect) one who does. May he rot in hell. And don't even get into the whole support our troops stuff. Caring about our military personel and their lives and supporting the actions our "chief of state" forces them to take are two completely different things.

**END DIATRIBE**

Ahem. So then I took a cab home last night because it was still pissing down and I didn't feel like waiting in the rain for a bus.

This morning, BookstoreBoy2 came by for brunch! Bryan was the guy who used to work in the bookstore around the corner and who I once had a massive crush on. He's one of my very favorite people on the planet. Actually, I think he's about as close to a perfect match for me as I have ever found - relationship-wise. I don't mean to say that we would be perfect together (I should remind you all that he is married) I just mean... I'm looking for a guy very similar to him. After I've hung out with Bryan, I realize what I've been missing in all of my relationships so far, and after having a great time with him, I realize what I am looking for and how important it is to have those things in a friendship/relationship. I could talk to him all day long. We never run out of things to say and our conversations continually branch off into new directions which we follow and then try to trace our way back to the original line of conversation - and then branch out again. He's fun to be with, down to earth, incredibly interesting and engaging, and just the nicest guy ever. I will settle for nothing less in any future relationship I may have. Anyway... yeah... so I had a wonderful time having brunch with him as usual. We'll continue to write, and I'm sure that we will both visit each other (he to Seattle, me to San Francisco) now and again in the future.

This afternoon was the Beach Party. RDG and uh... R....achel? (I know her real name - I keep forgetting that damn psuedonym)had a Spring Break Beach Party at R...achel's house. All the folks I know from D-land were there too including: Mrs. Roboto, SBD, "Lee", and Loud Bob whose diary is around here somewhere, but I forget. Hottie boy was not there. And then I brought along Abby and RePete. Abby was much quieter than usual. I think that now that she's pretty damn sure she's going to be going to Harvard next year and hence leaving Seattle this summer, she is beginning to withdraw. RePete Seemed to have a good time, and even after Abby and I left, he stayed on. I was worried that the two of them being there would be awkward, but it wasn't. I got to talk to a really nice guy for a while, but I totally forgot what his name was and will probably never see him again. I really like you Seattle-D-Landers too. Everyone I have met from here so far has been absolutely great. Yay us!

And tomorrow is moving furniture day. I'm probably going to paralyze myself by lifting all of this heavy stuff. Ugh. Jessica and I will have a truck and we'll be clearing out her house and getting rid of some stuff from our house... and I will probably be buying a bed. Yay bed! Yay no more sheets coming off of my mis-shapen futons! I haven't had a "real" bed in YEARS.

prev & next