i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

Always Late! // 2002-10-31


It was a bad-ass day. Bad-ass in a not-good bad-ass sort of way.

It was dark as usual on my 5:45AM bike ride to work. Of course, my 5:45 bike ride took place at about 5:59AM, and so, instead of my usual liesurly Wicked Witch of the West pace, I had to go at the "Hi, I'm auditioning for Quicksilver II" pace. It was also very very cold. My fingers were, more or less, ice.

Also, I found out that our department is going to be visited by someone who will evaluate our jobs. That is, someone who is going to try to figure out who should get laid off. My supervisor is referring to him as "The Hit Man." His name is Victor, which I think is VERY appropriate for a hit man.

I was nearly squashed flat by a UPS truck on the way home. He was pulling out of a parking lot around a delivery truck that was parked right next to the exit of the parking lot, and he was going pretty damn fast for someone who couldn't see around a truck. So I had to swerve out into the traffic lane and hope to god no one was behind me. Since I'm here writing this, I think you can safely assume that I was not squashed. I must admit though, it was one of my better rides home. I was only nearly killed once. I've had nights where it was more like 5 or 6 times. Seriously.

Also of note, I saw two pick-ups with Maine plates on the way home.

I got a letter from the BC bookstore boy. I've been writing him all summer, more or less. He writes EXCELLENT letters - letters with real stories and substance to them. These are the best letters I've ever gotten. And yes, I admit it, I had a crush on him. It was an honest crush though -- I have always known nothing could come of it. Especially since he has a serious girlfriend. He's just the perfect guy, though. There are very few perfect-for-me men in the world. Anyway, he (suddenly) got married to his girlfriend. I'm quite happy for him and they ARE great together, but part of me was a little sad too. But the worst part was, he ended his letter with "Thanks for sharing stories." This sounded to me like "gee, thanks for writing this summer. It was nice. See ya." That made me really really sad. Maybe that's not how he meant it, but it really sounded like that. I feel like I lost the greatest pen pal that ever was.

This has just been a year full of marriages in my circle. My friend Amy (formerly of Seattle), Tim (a crush from college), Tod (my first kiss), James (a boy I had an affair with in 2000), Bryan (a friend and former crush), Pete (former housemate), Renee (another former housemate), and Jenny (a friend) have all gotten married this year.

Then I went on a phone rampage and called everyone I knew because I really wanted someone to talk to. I eventually got hold of Amy (of Maine). It was good to talk to her again. I really miss that girl. Maybe I'll just have to move to Maine myself one of these days. I'd like to be closer to my old friends.

As you can tell by the date/time stamp on this one, I had to write this last night off-line and save it because my housemate was on the phone. And now I am late again this morning because I overslept. Quicksilver II, here I come.

prev & next