i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

Weekend with The Boy // 2002-10-27


The weekend started out pretty badly. First off, Paul Wellstone died in a plane crash. Call me a conspiracy theorist, but I sincerely believe that there is an excellent chance it wasn't an accident. Move On has been organizing a campaign drive for him and he was very progressive and in one of the hot races for the Senate (and it's going to be close to see who gets to control the Senate this time around too - and OH SO important as well). It's just too much of a coincidence.

And then right after I heard the news, my boy came over to pick me up. I wanted to talk about it, but the instant I started too, he got really really huffy because he knew I thought it was a conspiracy. He was actually getting mad at me over it without even hearing what I had to say, which made me really mad. I'd like to go out with someone to whom I don't have to explain and justify my opinions. I mean, I know that there's no proof and it could have very well been a complete accident - I just want to be able to say that there is a very good reason why Georgie Porgie would want him dead, and I want someone to wonder with me if it was truly an accident.

Anyway, we went out and had a nice dinner - and one of the best damn deserts I have ever had as well. We didn't get to see Money & Run because it was sold out (and it was sold out Saturday night as well - so it looks like I won't get to see it this time around).

On Saturday we listened to NPR until 1PM - my favorite Saturday morning activity. I'm a big NPR nerd, and Saturday mornings are the best! And then we went to a fruit show where I got some REAL apples and I got to taste some of my favorite old varieties. I really miss the East Coast sometimes. What I wouldn't give for a Stayman, Newton Spitzenberg, or a Northern Spy. Though it is apple country out here, all they grow is the McDonalds varieties of apples - Red Delicious (BLECH!!!) Golden Delicious, Gala, Granny Smith, and MacIntosh. I found a guy who would splice me my own tree for only $5, but since I don't have a yard, it didn't seem like the best idea.

Today we went to the Science Center. I'm such a kid sometimes. I love science centers. I love the hands-on stuff in museums. (speaking of which, note to self - go see Do Ho Suh before it closes!!!) I really wanted to check out the bubble wall, but there were too many damn kids in the way, so I didn't get to try. I LOVE the tropical butterfly room. It's such a perfect place to be on a dreary Seattle winter day - full spectrum lights, heat, humidity! We also saw Apollo 13 in IMAX. Damn, IMAX is big - I haven't been to an IMAX since I was 10 or so.

So there wasn't anything all that exciting to report, but it was a fun (wholesome : ) weekend none-the-less.

prev & next