i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

I should come home more often. // 2002-12-22


Yesterday my cousin, Erin, rescued me from another day wasted in front of the TV. I really want to catch Spongey Square Shorts Bob since I've never seen him and I've heard good things about him. I'm also jonesing for my PowerPuff Girls fix - I haven't seen them since May. No luck so far - just Trading Spaces, While You Were Out and the VH1 version of the same show where some celebrity redesigns your room. What's with all of these interior design shows?

As I was saying, Erin came by to rescue me. We finished our Christmas shopping and came back to my Dad's place for dinner (ordered out pizza! We NEVER order out for pizza in Seattle.). Then we played Cranium with my Dad, Lynn (stepmother), and David (my brother) on one team and Erin and I on the other. Erin and I kicked butt.

I went over to Erin's house to spend the night, like when we were kids. We played boggle into the wee hours of the morning and then got up very early in the morning to bake bread for him to take to his grandmother's house for their Christmas dinner tonight. I love baking. SOmetimes I think that we should open our own bakery - my pies, his bread. I would definitely like to settle somewhere near Erin and his sister, Becky. We've always been the best of friends, and in fact, a lot of my closest friends were originally his friends (and he has a few friends who were my friends first). Anyway, our dream is to eventually have the three of us in a vaguely central geographic location someday.

Then we went to Aunt Evelyn's house. I love hanging out with Aunt Evelyn - she has lots of wonderful stories to tell. She's actually my mom's (and Erin's Dad's) aunt. Anyway, I always worry that each time I see her will be the last time I'll see her. She's my very favorite aunt, and despite the fuddy-duddy-ness of the name "Evelyn," I fully intend to make that the middle name of any daughter I may have (if I ever have kids).

This is turning out to be a really great week. I'm only sorry that I won't be here longer. I'm not going to get to visit half the people I want to see. I haven't got either Amy or my Pakistani family scheduled in yet. Alas!

prev & next