i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

TV these days // 2002-12-19


Ok, so, no more bitching about that damn flight.

I got in pretty late last night, and since I'm still functioning on West Coast time, I was up pretty late too. Every year when I come home for the holidays, I spend a good deal of time watching TV while family members are at work or asleep. This is my one time to catch up on TV-watching. I really haven't seen any TV since last Thanksgiving, I think. Once in a while I'll catch about 5 minutes or so here and there, but otherwise, I'm pretty much TV-less all year.

So I got to see my first Martha Stewart show. It was kind of interesting. Craig Kilbourne is no longer on the Comedy Channel, I guess, because he has some late night show on some non-cable channel. But I guess everyone else knew that already. I don't get to see much at my Mom's house because she doesn't have cable. But now, I'm at my Dad's house where there is cable and internet. So far today, I finally got to see a picture of J-Lo via her video "Jenny From The Block" - my first time hearing the song and seeing the video. I was very excited to see that MTV is actually playing videos again - though I just watched it for about an hour and a half and they're already repeating the same damn videos. Would it kill them to have a playlist of more than 10 videos? Or does anyone make videos anymore? And furthermore, how come they're all these Missy Elliot/Busta Rhymes/Snoop Dogg/Wanksta/one of those people from that incredibly annoying fingernails on chalkboard band, Destiny's Child/Justin Timberlake type bands. What's that genre called? I mean, where are the good bands that I actually like or would like to hear? They do throw in a few punkish non-j-lo-esque bands here and there, but really!

SO now I'm watching the gayest gay man doing a show on interior design on the Discover Channel.

And Julia Child is still around.

I always get this feeling of having been in a time capsule for the last year when I get home and watch TV. Some of the commercials are the same, though.

And you know what else was really funny? I've only seen that show about Raymond sort of twice - I've caught the last 10 minutes of one and the first two minutes of another. On the flight between Chicago and Baltimore, they showed an episode and it was one I'd already seen a few minutes of! What are the chances? Pretty high, I guess. TV does tend to feed us the same crap over and over.

prev & next