i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

American Airlines - may they all get horrible warts. // 2002-12-19


Ok, no more sewage stories. I promise. At least for now.

So yes, my boss is quitting. Someone is being promoted from within. My boss pretty much rocks. I can't think of ever having a more competent boss. She will be missed. I hope that I won't be there too terribly much longer, so maybe it won't affect me too much.

I packed. I proceeded to panic about all of the usual packing things. I think I have everything.

And then yesterday was spent on a plane. And let me tell you, I will NEVER fly with American Airlines again... except to use the free plane ride voucher they gave me, of course. SO first they asked if anyone would volunteer their seats. I went up to ask about it, and they said that they could route me through Chicago instead of St. Louis and get me to Baltimore only 10 minutes after the St. Louis plane. So that seemed like a pretty sweet deal. I'd get a free plane ride voucher thing and someone would get their seat to St. Louis and it would be no skin off my nose. So I volunteered my seat. They said that my bags were already on the St. Louis plane, but they'd be there waiting for me in Baltimore. OK, that made me a little nervous, but whatever. They could sit there for ten minutes and be ok. So, they set me up, give me my voucher and my ticket through Chicago. I take three steps from the desk and turn towards the Chicago gate and JUST at that moment (my life had the timing of a movie yesterday) the Chicago gate ladies announce via overhead speakers that all flights to and all flights out of Chicago are delayed due to inclement weather. We got off the ground an hour and 45 min late. As we were about to land in CHicago, they announced where all of our connections were. Mine was at the opposite end of the Chicago O'Hare airport and would be taking off about 15 minutes after we land. SO I grab my stuff and become one of those rude pushy running people I hate and make haste to the gate that they'd announced. I got to the gate on time according to all clocks, but there was no Baltimore flight at that gate. So I turn and look for the screens and the only Baltimore flight they have is not the one that matches my flight number or gate number. So I walk up to the gate where I was supposed to take off and ask the lady where my flight is. SHe informed me that I missed it (it was still sitting there, but they'd JUST closed the door about 30 seconds earlier) and, with barely even look at me, she points me down the terminal and says that I'll have to be re-booked. SHe didn't apologize or offer any sympathy, she didn't even tell me where I was supposed to go, she just pointed. She was essentially, a bitch. It's hard to describe in words, but when you see it, you just know, she was being bitchy. And the lady who eventually helped me get a flight into Baltimore (three hours after I was supposed to get there - that flight was also delayed) was no better. Eventually, I made it in to BWI and I went to the office to pick up my bags and, guess what? That's right. They weren't there. They somehow managed to lose my bags. And that's pretty much where I lost it. I was PISSED. I burst into tears. The wimpy little security boy came in the office to make sure I didn't go postal or something, I guess. Anyway, the lady at the counter was the first and only nice person I met the WHOLE day. And I have my bags now. A good 20 hours after they were supposed to get here, but here.

Oh, and it didn't end there. They found me a cab (my family couldn't pick me up - my mom doesn't drive so well at night and my dad and stepmother and brother were busy) and then when I said where I was going, the guy pulled my stuff back out of his cab and handed it to me with no explanation and no further words. It was probably one of the worst traveling experiences ever. I hope that the cab driver and the bitchy people in Chicago and lots of other American Airlines employees (including the flight attendants on the first flight) get a horrible case of warts. And lots of papercuts.

Ok, I"m going to start a more lighthearted entry now. I don't want this one sitting up on my index page for too long.

prev & next