i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

Slow Death // 2002-12-16


Oy! It's been a while since I've written and there have been many a thing I have thought of writing about in the last few days. Of course, now, I have forgotten what most of them are.

I don't remember anything about Saturday except falling asleep really early and having a headache. Oh yes, and during lunch, I ran down to Pike Place Market to do some Christmas shopping for my cousins. I knocked over and broke a giant bottle of barbeque sauce. It smelled nice.

On Sunday morning, I biked in to work in the wee early hours, as usual. It was dark. It wasn't raining, though, so the streets were dry. That is, until I got to the block right before my office door. SPLOOSH! I went through this huge river that was running down the street and in the gutters. It didn't smell bad or anything, so I was pretty sure that it wasn't sewage despite the sewage issues of the day before (see previous entry). But as the day progressed, and the sun came up, I began to notice little white bumpy deposits all over the street (water was running down the street the whole day - all the way until I left for the night). Upon closer inspection, I realized that it was paper pulp. As in, toilet paper pulp. As in, I biked through a river of sewage and it had dried on my pants leg. As in, I am going to boil my pants and probably never ever wear them again.

Last night, we had a good-bye party for Emilie. She flies out on the 20th. She's moving back to Maine to be closer to her family. We made our own sushi and had all sorts of wonderful homemade Japanese food treats. We're probably not going to be seeing much of Angela anymore either, which is really sad because she's become as much a member of our house as Emilie is. Anyway, Jess, Lauren, Angela, Becca, Amy, Emilie and I were all there. We had some great conversation, told some ridiculous jokes, and played "I never," where I learned that Becca isn't nearly the sweet innocent girl I thought she was. She's a wild child.

I got to leave work an hour and a half early today. I was exhausted and there wasn't really any work for me to do. There's a big change afoot, though. I think that my big boss is becoming a bigger boss and will no longer be in our department. She's what makes our department work and what makes it a fun place to work. No one knows yet - I just figured it out on my own, mostly, and my supervisor kind of confirmed it. Everyone's going to be devastated. I expect her to make the announcement tomorrow. Whoever comes in could easily turn my job into a living hell. It's ok though, I'm trying to get out as fast as I can.

This evening, The Boy picked me up after my walk with Abby. I'd already had dinner and so we were just going to go somewhere for him to get some food and for me to get some coffee. He wasn't sure what he wanted, so we drove down to the CD, picked up a takeout menu, and then he decided that he didn't want to eat there, so we drove to Capital Hill, and then to Lower Queen Anne, and then to Upper Queen Anne, and then to Ballard. The place we were going to in Ballard had a band playing, and The Boy wanted some place quiet, so we got back in the car and drove to Fremont, Wallingford, and The U District. Nothing struck his fancy. So finally, we went to the U Village where he decided that "Johnny Rockets" was the place he wanted to be. For those of you who do not live in Seattle, let me just explain for a moment that he essentially drove through all of the central neighborhoods in Seattle - probably a 5 - 10 mile radius - before he found a place to eat. Everytime we go out to eat, he makes me choose a place. Now I know why. I swear to God, I will never let him choose ever again. I was so cranky by the time we finally parked the damn car. I just wanted to go out, get some coffee or something, sit, talk, and then get home in time for bed. But no! We had to tour the whole city before he could pick a place to eat. Grr. And then this Rocket place was really ... weird. It was all 50's ish in a very fake way and the waiters did this choreographed dance to the B-52's Love Shack. I was so embarassed for them that I couldn't watch. And then on the ride home, The Boy got all cranky and bitchy about being alone on Christmas and not being able to get drunk because he was going to have to pick me up at the airport. Well hell, if he feels that way, I'll take the bloody shuttle.

Sorry.

Now, don't get me totally wrong here - The Boy does have some wonderful qualities. He's romantic, thoughtful and kind, and sometimes he's great fun to hang out with - like when he comes over and brings a movie, or when we play a game or something along those lines. I think he just hit every one of my nerves tonight - the incessant driving, the relentless consumerism, the constant eating out, and the grumpiness. I'm really sad that we're drifting apart like this - and we really are. I haven't seen much of him in the last month. I'm going to be gone for most of this next month as well. I'm pretty sure that our relationship is currently in the middle of dying a slow death. I feel really sad about it because I REALLY REALLY DO like him.

Bleh.

Sorry again.

I guess I should go to sleep before I blather on much more.

prev & next