i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

Old Biddies // 2002-11-03


I heard the most interesting book review on NPR today. Someone has stolen my idea. Well, she probably came up with it before me, but one of my ideas for driving cross-country has always been to do a cross-country pie tour. When Jessica, Jeremiah and I drove across country in 1998, we sort of did this - but not scientifically or consistently. So this woman went out in search of pie on America's back roads. What a great road trip that must have been. Of course, she probably weighs 300 lbs. now.

Emilie told me that she's moving back to Maine at the beginning of the year. So we're going to be looking for a new housemate AGAIN soon. It's too bad, really, because these three are a good group of girls. Alas!

I'm thinking of starting a club. I want to get a group of women together once a month to do crafty-type things. Each month, someone would present some craft or activity to the group and we'd learn all sorts of new interesting stuff. I was thinking of knitting, pie reciepes, stationary, paper soap or candle making, sewing, quilting - and then we could also have good food and tea and scrabble and canasta or something going on too. I was thinking of calling it the Biddy club, but Abby thinks that "craft night" would just be better because she (and probably others) don't want to be associated with the word "biddy."

None of my friends get along very well with each other. I can't think of a friend I have that my other friends don't somehow dislike. I have a real mishmash of friends out here. They REALLY don't seem to like each other - so any group gathering is a real balancing act-diplomatic nightmare.

prev & next