i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

WE LOVE IT! WE LOVE IT! // 2003-06-15


Oh my oh my! What a wonderful weekend! And what a week too!

So first of all, as most of you know, Amishboy arrived in Seattle on... Monday night I believe it was. I've had a blast tourist-ing him about, though I guess he's not a tourist anymore! He crashed with me for a few days, was a big hit with my housemates and was the most concientious houseguest we have ever seen here at Da Vaclav Hovel. So it's been great having someone around to hang out with this past week.

In other news, I got the new hearing aids. They're alright. I think they need a little more tweaking, but otherwise, they're pretty good. They're less noticable than I thought they would be. I can't tell if I hear better with them or not.

Ok, now to the nitty gritty. On Friday, I went to a movie right after work. My co-worker, Shawnee, actually dropped me off right at the door. She's going to be moving to Capitol Hill so I'll be able to carpool! It was sweet of her to drop me off. Then, Amishboy and I went out for a few drinks. We wandered around Capitol Hill and hopped between a few bars. I got the Fuzzy Navel at Canterbury, and it pretty much did me in. I thought that I'd remembered that the drinks were way strong there. The kahlua and creams aren't so bad, but watch out for those fuzzy navels! They're WAY more fuzzy (and russian) than navel. AB got a bottle top that stumped us for several days (Olympia beer has a puzzle under each bottle cap). I thought that it was my drunken haze that was making the puzzle hard for me, but even in the broad daylight, completely sober the next day, I couldn't figure it out. It took several high (and not-so sober) friends of Don Juan's the next day to figure it out.

AB found an apartment - it's pretty cute. He moved in over the weekend and I took him out for used furniture shopping. I think he had some moderate success. The boy at Dixon's was a dead ringer for a young Johnny Depp. He was a hottie.

Saturday night a bunch of people went over to Don Juan's house for some grilling before the U.S.E. show. And what a show! Yeah, I know that Red and Bird go on and on about how wonderful they are, but the thing is, they're RIGHT. I had a good time at the house party, doing some people watching and whatnot, but I couldn't really experience the full effect of U.S.E. At the Sunset, however, they were phenomenal! I haven't had that much fun at a show in a long time. I mean, yeah, Dirty Three was GREAT and I loved watching them on stage, and Patty Griffin is just a religious experience in and of herself, but no one has made me jump and grin like that since.... maybe since the Pietasters or the Scofflaws back in my Rude-Girl days of college. I have been converted. I am SO going to be there for the next show. They don't have many songs yet, though. They had to play the second song of their set again for an encore because they don't have any other songs.

The band before them, though, had to be the most painful concert experience I have ever had. They had massive technical difficulties, took forever to get started, and then they were... so ... excited about what they were playing that it was painful to watch. They had some correographed jumping thing going on. It was... something else. They wiggled their eyebrows too much.

Today, Abby and I went on a long bike ride. We went down to Madison Valley and biked along Lake Washington Blvd. to Seward Park. I can bike faster than Abby! I was a speed demon. And then, when we passed I-90, we saw that up ahead the road was blocked off and there was a detour! I was all disappointed... until I got closer and read the signs - the roads were closed to CARS! Bikes only on Saturday and Sunday 10 - 6!!!!!! GOD I LOVE THIS TOWN! They closed off one of the most scenic roads in town and let the bikers have it all to themselves! So Abby and I went Fredding about, slaloming (how do you spell that?) through the dashed yellow lines. We had a picnic at the beach, went swimming in the lake, did some people watching, attempted to tan our pale white skin, and watched Mt. Rainier come out from behind the clouds.

This evening, Lauren and I went on a bit of a walk and caught up and had some sushi. She introduced me to her friend who just moved to the city. She's graciously volunteered to be my guinea pig for the practice pie I have to make this week. I'm making a pie for Becca's fundraiser, but I want to make a practice one first to be sure that I can pull it off. I don't want to eat the pie myself, though. I'm very thankful to her for volunteering to eat it.

When I came home, I was ambushed by my ninja housemate, Amy. And Becca played her guitar this afternoon and we ended up having an impromptu sing-along (all of us). Our living room is the most gorgeous place at sunset.

Anyway, it was a gorgeous day, a gorgeous week, and I'm in a great mood. I love this city. I love my friends. I love my housemates. Things are good.

prev & next