i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

This is what I did this week. // 2003-05-11


Hello! I'm back. Sorry about the melodrama. Turns out that it wasn't so much PMS as... well as my mother would have said when I was three, "Sounds like SOMEbody hasn't had her N-A-P." I'm such a cranky crankmiester if I don't get enough sleep.

Plenty of stuff has been going on this week. I'm going to skip over Tuesday and Wednesday and head straight for the action. So we're looking for a new housemate. Quita is going to be working in New Hampshire this summer and then will be heading off to lands unknown for law school. She might end up back in Seattle and she might end up in DC. So, we had a few bites for the room on Thursday. First, there was Jody. Jody is a nice hippy-dippy girl. An artiste, if you will. She loves to name-drop all of the art-oriented organizations that she's involved in. She's very nice, though perhaps a tad pretentious. And then there was Stephanie. Stephanie is an acrobat and works in a law firm to support herself. She's really sweet. The only problem with Stephanie, however, is her laugh. She laughs a lot, and that's all good. The only problem is, she has this gasping-snorting-hee-haw laugh that was so... overwhelming that when she first laughed I had this moment of panic and I had to look away and I was thinking to myself "oh my god. I have to make sure I don't say anything else funny." But it didn't matter, she laughed a lot anyway. After about five minutes, I got over feeling embarassed for her and started to find it more endearing. Amy had the same reaction. We all liked her a lot. I have the feeling that she'll be the new housemate.

Friday night, I got together with Trevor, one of my old housemates. I really like Trevor a lot, though sometimes when we talk, I wonder who he's hearing. He misunderstands me like no one I have ever met. It's like he adds things between the lines or he's imagining what I'd say if he asked me a few more questions, but he's always wrong. Anyway, he's a freak. We had fun wandering around Capitol Hill and catching up. We ended up at the Hopvine where this really cool guitar player was just going to it. He was awesome. I always forget about the Hopvine. I should make a point of going there more often.

Saturday, I was just putzing around the house a bit before heading out to a Bar-B-Q. Abby called me up and asked me to go on a walk with her. A walk with Abby usually means an hour long loop of Capitol Hill. We have a specific route we always take. Well, we got about half way around the loop when we decided that we wanted to continue down this one road... and then another... and then another... until we'd wandered all over Capitol Hill. We were looking at all the gorgeous gardens and gorgeous houses and lusting after a few particular beauties. What I wouldn't give to live in one of those houses overlooking Interlaken park!!! Anyway, we started to head back up the hill and then decided to make a complete U-Turn and head to the U-District. We had dinner at Agua Verde (mangodillas!). And of course, I'd missed the bar-b-q at this point. I used to walk to the U District all. the. time. right after my breakup with PumpkinFucker, but I haven't done it in quite some time and my legs were tired. Maybe I'm going to have to take it up again. I used to go to Allegro after I got up there and I'd have one of their tasty iced teas on the balcony, listening to the Morrocan men who for some inexplicable reason like to congregate there on the bench below. I'd pick up a book from Magus and some yarn from Weave Works and read and knit and then catch a bus back up to Capitol Hill... or go to Kung Fu class. I've gotten so lazy in these last few years. I'm definitely going to take up some of these habits again.

Anyway, today was a p-patch gardening day and a shop for some new jeans day. My favorite jeans got a rip in them in a totally wrong place in the middle of my left leg. I don't know how the heck it got there, but I was bummed because there is nothing in this world other than a trip to the dentist that I hate more than going shopping for clothes. I also shopped for a cell phone and almost bought one. I'm taking baby steps towards the 21st century.

prev & next