i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

Fiesty Old Lady! // 2002-12-02


Yesterday, Dr. KS was hunched over something in her office. I knocked on her door and she snapped at me "Can't you see I'm busy!?" I was really taken aback because she's usually so nice. So I meekly backed out of the office, but she called me back in saying she'd just been kidding. And then she shouted "DIE OCTOPUS, DIE!" She was playing a video game on her cell phone.

I had the weirdest elevator ride today. A short (under 5ft) skinny little wrinkled lady who had to be in her mid 80's was already on the elevator. I got in the elevator with her and we were joined shortly thereafter by a bunch of overweight nurses. So the little old lady goes "Looks like we're headed to the liposuction floor!" I asked her to repeat herself because I wasn't sure if she wanted to go to the floor where plastic surgery (usually along the lines of reconstructing skin after burns or other trauma) is done or if she really said that. She really said that. So, after a few other mishaps that made me quite certain that she was having some impulse control issues, we both ended up getting off on the 7th floor. After we rounded the corner to the hall where the patients are, she swatted my butt. She spanked me. And then she took off running down the hall. I couldn't keep up with her at all. And she went into the wrong room and I had to show her where her husband was. Let me reiterate, in case you missed it. I was spanked by a woman in her 80's.

The dandruff muncher was at the gym! DM is this really awkward girl I've seen at several shows and other events around town. She usually dresses in 50's clothing and has this expression on her face that looks like someone just hit her on the head with a stick. I used to feel sorry for her because she really looks like she wants to fit in to "the scene" in Seattle, but she's so socially awkward that she just doesn't. I think I felt bad for her because she reminds me of myself in some weird way. I really want to "belong" but my greatest fear is that I'm some horribly socially awkward person and I just don't know it. I'm always amazed that I have such cool friends. I used to think about going up to her and talking to her because I think she needs some friends. But then, at one show, I saw her scratching her head and then eating the dandruff out from under her fingernails and I have never had much sympathy for her or desire to meet her ever since. Anyway, I saw her at the gym today and she just came in and sat on an exercise bike and read a magazine. As if just sitting on it without actually pedalling is just going to get you all fit by osmosis or something. God, that girl is weird. Part of me really wants to befriend her and the other part of me is completely disgusted and just wants to make fun of her - as if we were still in middle school. If only she didn't eat her dandruff!

Well, The Boy gets home tomorrow. It's been a really nice break to be away from him for a bit. I haven't had time to wander around on my own or just sit at home in so long.

Does this only happen to me or do you sometimes smell something that smells like urine after you sneeze really hard?

My friend Q is also coming to visit this week! I can't wait to see her!!! My dad moved across the street from her when we were in the 8th grade. We ended up going to the same college. Her mom was the one who found me a place to stay in Seattle when I first moved out here and I kind of became friends with her mom. And then her parents moved out here to Seattle from Maryland about two years ago! So once again, we're "neighbors." Her dad is also the advisor for one of my former housemates who is doing graduate work with him. Small world.

prev & next