i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

Am I a Southerner? // 2002-11-14


People have pointed out to me, on several occasions, that I say the word "on" funny. I say "awn" as in "awnings." Some people suggest that this is a Southern accent. I'm from Maryland, as I have mentioned before. I have never thought of Maryland as part of the South. Virginia is clearly a part of the South. Pennsylvania is clearly not a part of the South. My friends from Rhode Island, New York, and a snobby snoot-girl from PA have all told me that they think of Maryland as being in the South. Friends from the Pacific Northwest and the west don't seem to think of it period(actually, I gather that most people never think of Maryland at all). Friends from the South seem to consider it part of the North. SO I ask you, where does Maryland fit in? Am I a southerner? I never thought of myself as such. Western MD, Southern MD, and the Eastern Shore are all pretty south-esque in culinary styles and in some behavior. Maryland is technically just south of the Mason-Dixon line. But if you've ever been to DC, Baltimore or the land in between, you'll find that it's fairly New England-ish in style. Besides, if you want to get all civil war technical, Maryland was the state you had to reach to be free if you were a slave. Also, technically, MD was part of the Union (though it was pretty split on that matter). I'm having an identity crisis. Sure, you can cop-out and say it's part of the "Mid Atlantic," but no one ever talks about the "Mid Atlantic" as a region. So anyway, I am open to your comments. I'm interested to hear what others have to say about it. I'm guessing that pretty much no one cares but me, but I'm still interested to hear what people have to say. (Again, I think I only have one or two readers - so I guess there won't be much said - BUT all the more important then that everyone participates!)

prev & next