i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

Party Hats! No Berrets! // 2003-07-15


I biked over Capitol Hill this morning. I never bike up Republican between 12th and 13th because it's such a bitch of a hill right there. I've done it at other points, but never that particular block. This morning, I just decided to try it from a stand still - and I made it! Yeah! I guess I can do tougher hills than I give myself credit for. I've seen other people go up that block before, and it's nothing like going up Denny or anything, but I am proud proud proud today.

Because I work at a lisenced child care facility, I was required to get training on HIV/AIDS today. We never actually directly care for any kids, but because we deal with children at all, it's a state requirement. So I had the distinct pleasure of sitting in a room full of my co-workers, including quite a few fuddy-duddies and learning how to properly put on a condom. The instructor even brought out a wooden demo-penis and used it to point to things on her posters, and then demonstrated the condom wearing on the wooden demo-penis. Now, I'm all for stopping the spread of HIV/AIDS and safer sex and all of that, but could someone please explain to me why the hell we'd need to know how to properly wear a condom in order to be a lisenced child care agency? But just remember boys and girls, when you place the condom on top of the penis, it should look like a party hat and NOT a berret.

Chris and I planned our camping trip over dinner tonight. We went to the Thai resturaunt where they treated me like a celebrity the time I brought my Harry Potter book in. The funny thing was, though, that they treated me like a celebrity again this time and I didn't even have the book. I think that it's just these two waiter guys are VERY VERY EXCITED about every customer. They pull out the chair for you to sit in. They make conversation. They smile lots. I guess I'm just used to a certain amount of surliness in resturaunt staff, so these guys take me by surprise. Chris and I were also seated next to the most amusing first date I have ever witnessed. I shit you not when I tell you that she said at one point that her breath was just taken away when she got to see Gorbachev speak at her graduation. His response was "you just gave me the shivers." Later, he said something and she said that it just gave HER the shivers. Oh, we're all just quivering in our seats here. Chris and I could barely talk because their conversation was so amusing we just wanted to keep listening. They were trying so hard to impress one another and they had smiles plastered to their faces the whole time - I just knew that their cheeks must be aching.

I finally bought my first Greg Brown albums tonight. I've always loved his music and his sexy voice, but for some stupid reason, I'd never gotten around to buying anything of his. I fixed that.

prev & next