i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

Tuesday night and I ain't got nobody... // 2003-02-25


Today I made it from my house down to the central district on my bike in five minutes flat. It's not that far, but usually it takes ten. I was going as fast as the traffic (and even faster for a moment!). But it took me another full five minutes to lock up my bike because my fingers were all red and numb. It didn't FEEL that cold out this morning, but I guess it was.

I've been bitching a lot lately, but I have to tell you about something that's really good. This time last year, I was in a pretty bad spot. I think February is always bad for me. But really, I spent a lot of evenings at home, renting DVD's, reading, and obsessing over the bookstore boy. I didn't go out much. I felt like I didn't have many friends. But in the last week or so, I have come to realize how much closer I am with the friends I have, and I've started to meet a lot of new people. Yes, ok, a lot of those people are moving away (or are they? Becca, Abby and Quita might not be moving after all - we shall see), but I AM meeting people. What's making me really aware of this is the fact that I've been planning on cleaning my room, writing a letter, and working on a little project and going to the gym for the last four nights or so straight, and yet each night, I come home and someone calls up and wants to do something that sounds WAY more fun than cleaning my room. So it's still a pig sty.

Tonight, for example, RDG invited me out with "Lee" and "Rachel." I also got to meet "Loud Bob." I think that "Lee" is just the sweetest thing - and she's really funny too. And "Rachel" is damn cool herself, and pretty darn cute. They had chicken from a Famous chicken place in the CD. Being a vegetarian and all put a damper on the experience, but I did get to have some nice rolls and fries. I'm so full of starch, you could just iron me out and fold me up all nice neat. And of course, there was the Jade Pagoda - my new favorite bar.

I'm feeling all bitchin kick-ass and self-confident right now. I should do something extreme. I should sieze the self-confidence! Yar! Unfortunately, it's past my bed time. Hmm... extreme people don't worry about bedtimes though, do they? But what sort of extreme things can you do at midnight on a Tuesday?

prev & next