i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

Three bars, one night. // 2003-02-10


Aiee! I am so delinquent in my diary-ing.

I really officially started my new job. I like my job, I still hate my commute. I got my first paycheck also. It was really strange - I couldn't figure out how the heck I was making so much for only 20 hours. I pondered it for a while. I did some complicated math computations. Eventually, I just divided my paycheck by the number of the hours... only to discover that I was paid almost twice what I thought I was supposed to be getting per hour. I marched right over to the HR guy and told him that I thought he paid me too much. He had. It took me almost a week to realize it. I hope they didn't think I was trying to be dishonest and keep it. I guess they hadn't noticed and I could have gotten away with it, but I am painfully honest about some things.

Anyway, I am loving my job.

On Friday, a oppossum crawled up to our house and died on the sidewalk. It was really sad. What was worse, though, was that it just stayed there on the sidewalk all weekend. I don't have a shovel, nor do I think that our landlords would want us burying dead things in our "backyard" (our backyard is just a mini hill of dirt held up by a retaining wall so that it doesn't mudslide into our back door). So we called animal control, but no one came. As of noon today, it was still there. It finally disappeared sometime today while I was out. It was always there, hovering in the back of my mind, all weekend - I just KNEW that the oppossum was there and it bugged the crap out of me.

I got some sort of survey for jury duty. I've always wanted to be summoned, but unfortunately, I just started this job and I really don't want to be summoned right NOW. This is about the worst time I could possibly get summoned.

Amishboy is around here somewhere. We've been dragging him out of his hotel room on a regular basis. We can't tell if he's scared of us or if he's having fun, but he continues to not run away at great speeds, so maybe it's all ok. On Friday night we went to THREE bars in ONE night! I've never been to so many bars in one night in my life. I doubt I've ever been to three bars in one week for that matter. I only drink girly girl drinks, so I tend to not get out so much when it comes to drinking. This will make sense for those of you who live in Seattle. Anyway, that was fun. Today, I finally got to see a few episodes of Spongebob Squarepants! I also found out why I hadn't been able to see it the whole time I was at my Dad's house or while I was anywhere else that had a TV. Spongebob is on Nickelodeon. I was watching the Cartoon Network the whole time. How come no one tells me these important details!? Also today: Amishboy tried bubble tea - milk tea with pearls. I thought it was pretty brave of him, but now that I know that he's never tried a banana, beans, a tomato, or peaches among MANY other things, I realize that it was a true act of heroism on his part. He also tasted my thai iced tea with pearls. Reddirtgirl was VERY wise in keeping me from taking him out to Indian food. We got pizza instead.

Reddirtgirl and I watched an episode of MST3K tonight also. And to you Reddirtgirl, I dedicate this little inside joke: "Ching wong dai duk chow chow chai!" To everyone else, you just have to watch "The Wild Wild World of Batwoman."

prev & next