i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

You mean Elton John is GAY? // 2002-11-13


I have a new corporate workout program. I am now refusing to use the elevators at work unless I am in an extreme hurry. I feel like a giant jelly balloon (which, granted, might have something to do with my menstrual cycle) and I figure this way I might be able to lose a little weight. My first assignment today was on the seventeenth floor. I also walked up to the tenth floor twice. Luckily, there is no 13th floor and the ground level on my side of the building is the 3rd floor, so really I was only walking up 13 floors when I went to 17 and 7 floors when I went to 10. My legs hurt.

I had drinks tonight with the entire staff of BC. You see, ok, it's time to admit it. Bryan of BC was the bookstore boy I had a big crush on. He's the perfect man. He's also the perfect man for Elizabeth, so I won't waste any tears over his marriage and subsequent ineligability. After I got over my little crush on him, we became pretty good friends. He's back visiting Seattle now before he and Elizabeth head out to find their new home and so they had drinks with the BC staff. This was my first time getting to go to a BC social event. I always wanted to see them socially, but again, that terror of being seen as "that crazy stalker bookstore girl" has kept me from it. Anyway, I got to hear lots of interesting stories from Bryan and Elizabeth about heliocopter rides and the crazy murder story that took place at the cabin they stayed in this summer and then I spent some time talking with Eric. He's pretty nice too. I always thought he was gay though, but tonight I think I figured out that he's not. I also always thought David was gay, but tonight I met his girlfriend/fiancee. My gay-dar is SO broken. "You mean Elton John is GAY?"

I think I'm going to start baking pies to give away. If I'm going to get rid of the jelly balloon feeling, I can't be eating pies, but I really want to bake them. I'm going to have to get over my being-percieved-as-a-stalker fear though (what would the name of that phobia be? paranoia?) because I'll run out of the usual suspects to give them to. I'll probably take some down to the bookstore. Eric says they all have a major sweet-tooth. I'm going to be known as the crazy pie girl of Seattle if I'm not careful.

PS - if you happen to know me and are reading this, I hereby require you to tell me so or suffer the consequences.

prev & next