i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

Maryland, my Maryland // 2005-09-14


Oh, how I miss Maryland. I miss the history oozing through the buildings. I miss wondering what happened in this very spot, years ago. I miss east coast apples (old heirloom varieties). I miss the pizzazz of the changing autumn leaves. I miss the subtle beauty of the rolling hills and winding streams. I miss black raspberries in June.

Does everyone feel this way about the place where they grew up?

I just spent the evening looking at someone's website that details some old decaying structures in Maryland - photos of places I visited in my youth (Hell House, Patapsco Park, Ellicott City, Enchanted Forest). I kind of wish that we were staying longer when we go back for my brother's wedding. Somehow, I think S. would be very bored wandering the woods with me. I doubt I'd find what I'm looking for anyway. Now, where did my childhood go? I'm sure it's around here somewhere...

prev & next