i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

Ettiquette & New Technology // 2004-02-02


What's this? Could it be TWO entries in a ROW? Why, it could!

I had a surreal moment on the way home from work today. QESD had called me while I was downtown walking to my bus, so we were chatting about this and that... and then I see a familiar woman on the corner of Union & 3rd, peering at the newspapers. It's QESD's mom. So, I said hello and handed her the phone so she could talk to him, and I think we all had an awkward moment, but it was just so weird that I had to share it with the two of them, when maybe I should have kept walking in order to avoid the awkwardness. So this is what it's like when you live in your boyfriend's hometown. "Hello, ma'am. I am currently talking to your son. I also sleep with him on a fairly regular basis." I felt like a deer in headlights. There is no ettiquette for these situations.

Oh, and by the way, don't you all jump at once to join the elitist internet community that is Orkut. I don't know if I can handle all of these requests. Oh - and not to keep harping on this Orkut thing, but here's a weird one for you... you can also rate your friends in the categories of "trustworthy" "cool" and "sexy." No one can see what you have rated them as, but whatever people rate you as the most often will make a certain color appear behind your picture - yellow if you're trustworthy, blue for cool, and pink for sexy. Up until today, I have been "cool" - but now all of a sudden, I'm Ms. Thang or something because I'm rated at 100% sexy, 80% cool and only 70% trustworthy. What the...? If there was one category I thought I wouldn't be, it's sexy. I don't get the trust thing either- if anything, I thought that was where I'd score the highest!!! Everyone always says I'm "nice" when asked to describe me, so I figured that "trustworthy" was equally innocuous.

prev & next