i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

New Year, New Deal // 2004-01-01


HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Today is not only New Year's Day, but also Independence day in Haiti, the 10th anniversary of the Zapatista Revolt in Mexico (1994), and the 141st anniversary of Emancipation day (U.S.).

This year, I intend to incorporate other national holidays and celebrations/traditions in my life. The two that I am definitely carrying out are Dia Los Muertos (did I spell that right?) and Chinese New Year. So, for example, January 22nd is Chinese New Year (year of the monkey - my favorite animal!) and I intend to have every single thing in my life cleaned and ready for the new year - all debts paid (ok, except for the Student Loan - that's going to take another year or two).

This year, in particular, I feel like it is really important to get everything all straightened out. Right now, my life is completely out of control. I have two inboxes at work that are one foot deep each, my room is a mess and I haven't unpacked from my trip home, I have a ton of dry cleaning to do and plenty of regular laundry as well, I have e-mails dating back MONTHS that I haven't replied to, plenty of friends who are owed phone calls or letters, and I have been woefully delinquent in going to the gym, and updating my paper and D-land diaries. And then I have a bunch of worries - for example, are we going to be able to find new housemates? It was pretty rough searching last month and if we don't find someone in time for February, we may all have to move out. So this year, by Chinese New Year, I plan to have things in my life back under control - or at least more under control than they are now - things straighted up, cleaned and ready for a fresh start!

prev & next