i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

Whine and Cheese // 2003-12-11


I'm knitting the ugliest scarf in the world. Yes, indeed. Why would I knit something hideous? Well, because my mother's taste is pretty bad, and I want to give her a scarf that I knit myself. I should scan it in or something to show you how ugly it is. Anyway, it's for the mother who always gets me flower-print dresses (with BIG ugly flowers on them) and who knows that I like the color green - so she tends to get me things in bright crayola green. Not really my style. And she likes to wear pinks, blues, and purples herself. So, I think she's going to like this scarf. I'm ready to be finished, so I can stop looking at it, though.

I'm happy to report, that according to the TSA website, knitting needles are permitted on airplanes now! Yay!

I'm sad to report that neither of my closest cousins, nor my father are going to be in MD while I'm home for Christmas. Nor is my favorite great-aunt (who died back in February). I don't know what I'm going to do with myself and I'm not looking forward to the trip "home." My mom will be there, as well as a few aunts and uncles. I guess I'm getting a feel for what I suspect many people feel when going "home" for holidays. I'm super-close to my cousins and I really admire my dad a lot, but otherwise... I'm kind of luke-warm about the rest of my family. They're nice enough, but if we weren't related, they aren't people I would actively seek out to hang out with. None the less, I will try to make the most of it and to stop whining about it everytime someone asks me what I'm doing for Christmas. I said I'd TRY. No promises.

I think that it's time that I start buying new sweaters. My old ones are the old stand-bys that I've been wearing (in heavy rotation) for the last five years or so. They're getting a bit on the ratty side. I can't bear to wear anything other than sweaters in the winter because it's so COLD. How do you people wear long sleeved cotton shirts? It's totally beyond me.

prev & next