i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

Anyone there? // 2003-12-03


Um...

Howdy.

Yeah, so it's been about a month. Is anyone still reading?

So let's do a basic rundown here. Yes, I'm still seeing QESD and that's going GREAT. He's a fabulous boy and I couldn't be happier with him. In fact, most of my life is currently spent either with QESD, at work, or with other friends or tending to obligations that I have.

Work is going alright. Okay, maybe not so alright. Still tons of overtime, still too much work and not enough time, still an idiotic upper management system. I am wondering if this is true of every non-profit? Anyway, this total bitch of a co-worker of mine was promoted to "team leader" (i.e. more middle management) and it has all of my team mates and I looking at work elsewhere. Ok, maybe it's not so much that she's a bitch - she's just VERY annoying at times. It's like being a kid again and having to deal with a bossy/bully/tattle-tale/kiss-up-to-the-adult type on the playground. So I started sending my resume out to East Coast adoption agencies. And then, we found out that she's not going to be our "supervisor" which is excellent news - and maybe work will be more bearable. My OTHER co-worker (the one who is moving back to China) is still furious and despises Ms. Snitty - and it makes things very uncomfortable at work. I think she's mad at me for not making Ms. Snitty as uncomfortable as we made her for the first few days after the big "promotion." I've basically decided that since she isn't my supervisor, I'm not going to listen to her unless I feel like it. (Yes, I have a deathwish for my career. Shut up.) Also, we're trying to hire someone to fill the China-bound co-worker's position. I have the feeling that another fiasco is in the making here.

Speaking of searching for people to fill others positions - we have two openings in our house as Gretchen finishes her internship and moves back to Montana and Stephanie decides that she wants to be able to practice acrobatics at home and is looking for a place where she can hang a rope from the ceiling (and apparently has issues with Amy - according to Amy).

I've been going to Trivia on Tuesdays with QESD. We've come in second place all three times that we've gone. We need to find someone who knows every episode of the Simpsons and/or South Park by heart and then we'll be sure to win sometimes! It's the damn Simpsons round that gets us every time! That, and occasionally sports.

Thanksgiving was a hoot. The last five years, Thanksgiving has been a huge event at my house. We've had these amazing potlucks followed by great conversation, a fire in the fireplace, and sometimes we would play games or do crafts together or something. So I decided to organize it again this year even though every single one of the key players from previous years have left (Jessica, Emilie, Becca, Abby - essentially all of my old friends - all of whom left Seattle earlier this year). So the result was... interesting. It used to be that people would call up weeks ahead of time and ask if we were doing Thanksgiving again this year. Even people I hardly knew - friends of J, E, B, & A - would be asking about it. This year was a mix of a few people I know and a few people Amy knows (Stephanie and Gretchen both left town). One of my guests was Mike, aka Mr. Quiet, from downstairs. Mike has been a cantankerous old man at least since he was 29. He brought along his current girlfriend - and her two children. Mike - Mr. Quiet, Mr. Cranky - with children. And not just ANY children. These were hippie children. Industrial-music utilitarian German-o-phile Mike with hippie children. Children who, at age 6, have just stopped nursing. Children who just started wearing clothes last year. Children who have hair down to their butts - but are both boys (yes, I know, if you've been paying attention, you know that our parties always have one or two cross-dressed children). Children who have a mom who believes in a 'family bed.' Yeah, the two don't go together in my head either. Anyway - I have to say that I have never seen Mike so happy. So, I guess it's all done some good! The children (and their mom and Mike) were great enteratinment for the evening. Amishboy was a riot with the 6-year-old. He really saved the evening for me. I'm not a great hostess when it comes to uncomfortable situations - and it was a bit uncomfortable because Amy's friends were NOT cool with the (running/screaming/half-naked) children and thus decided to leave early. Oh yeah, and also, there were 10 pies for dessert (5 pumpkin, 2 apple, 1 apple-cranberry, 1 berry-cream, 1 chocolate-puffy-something-or-other). All-in-all, I had fun, but I think that it was the last Thanksgiving potluck that I'm going to host. I think that from now on, I will either go to other people's houses or sit at home and eat mashed potatoes alone.

Also, I hate Christmas and it's coming up soon.

prev & next