i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

An Entry to Pass the Time // 2003-10-15


Ahem.

So, okay... it's been like two weeks or something since I wrote. And it's coming up on one year that I've been writing this diary and I'm almost at my 200 entry-mark as well.

Why have I been so quiet lately? Well, mostly because I have been with my boy. Or I've been up late talking to my boy. Or (for the last four days) I have gone to bed frighteningly early because I'm sick sick sick.

Last week we went to a reading by one of my favorite authors. I was quite surprised to find that normal people do not read this particular author - or at least they do not attend readings by him. I'm a mean, mean person sometimes when I feel like I am socially superior to others. Sometimes I just want to point at people and laugh. Sometimes, strange people just make for good people-watching. Sometimes, I just want to pull them aside and go "Sweetheart, you're just trying a *little* too hard..." There were plenty of people to quietly snicker at in the audience, and plenty of others who provided good people watching, and props for being brave enough to wander around Seattle dressed like a witch, but there was one guy in particular who was completely over the top weird and trying much too hard. Have you ever heard of "furries"? You know, those people who, as best I can tell, believe that they are part anthropomorphic animal or something and therefore dress up like sports mascots. Anyway, this guy was one of those folks. He had fox ears on and not one - not two - but THREE fox tails strapped to his pants. They were big, bulky, fox tails - as if he'd cut off a giant portion of one of the mid-way prize animals and strapped the bits onto himself. So I'm sitting there, kind of snickering at this guy, when I realize with some amount of horror that he is about to sit next to me. I was trying VERY hard to be polite and not laugh at him, but I had to kind of bury my head in QESD's shoulder and try not to let my body shake with too much laughter as he sat down (and bopped me with his tails). He shook hands with the person on the other side of him and said "Hello! I'm Alpodorf!*" He seemed nice enough, but there's just something about people who take a particular interest just a little bit too far... I'm a mean, judgemental person.

* Not the actual name he gave.

prev & next