i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

Fufu // 2003-08-07


Ok, now that I got that huge story out of the way, I feel like I can move on a little bit here.

I got to meet Em when she was out to visit Seattle. Unfortunately, she was helping her sister move AWAY, so I don't know how much she'll be back. But what a sweetheart! I was worried that we'd be all awkward and quiet, but no! She's a good conversationalist. There's really something to be said for people who know how to draw stories out of you. I'm TERRIBLE at it. I'm such the observer - I like to sit quietly and let others do the talking and then I pipe in once in a while. But there are people out there who know how to draw me in - or even better, make me want to jump in and add something. Em is one of those people. I'm just meeting diarylanders everywhere these days.

After a rather full week last week, (which included getting Amishboy mildly tipsy on his birthday - many happy returns!) I needed the weekend to myself. Desperately. I've been working a lot of overtime. Last Thursday and Friday I was alone in the department - everyone else had vacation and the job is STRESSFUL right now - and it just got worse this week. It's hopeless. There is so much to do at this point that I think even if I worked a whole weekend for 12 hours each day, I STILL couldn't catch up. I really don't know how we're going to pull this off. We have about four months worth of work to do in two weeks. We are fucked. And I'm going on vacation breifly at the end of next week. Anyway, the point I was trying to make at the beginning of this paragraph was that the weekend before last, I had to work and last weekend I went camping, so THIS weekend was MINE. I was quite possessive of it. I cleaned my room (and pretty much finished it except for a few shelves in my closet and two boxes of miscellaneous crap that will probably be tossed anyway), went shopping for pie filling, and went to a Twisted Flick at the Fremont Outdoor Movies. We saw the Invisible Man dubbed over by Jet City Improv. ("I have no regrets")

I have also been playing my guitar so much that I no longer have feeling in the tips of my fingers on my left hand.

Q is in town this week! We went to Art Walk tonight. I love art walk. Prime People Watching to be done in Pioneer Square. Afterwards, we went to an African Resturaunt and ate Fufu - which is more fun to say than it is to eat, but it's still some good stuff.

prev & next