i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

"SO, are you seeing anyone?" // 2003-07-10


I've been driving Abby's car to work a lot this week. This is really the last week that I can drive it. I'm going to save my blubbering about Abby's impending move for when she actually moves so that I can get all of my blubbering out at once and not bore you with it every day until the 25th.

But speaking of cars, on Monday, K gave me a ride home after work because we were both there until 9:30. She drives a VW Rabbit - just like my old car. Just looking at the buttons on the dash - the same buttons I used to have on Sexy Kate - filled me with joy. There's the red concentric triangles! Her back window breaklight hangs down off the glass and bangs around too! It was all small and cute and comforting and... I miss Sexy Kate so much. Who would have thought that being in a VW Rabbit would make me so exhiliratingly happy? It's a sign. I MUST get another VW Rabbit when I get a car.

And also in the "who would have though" vein... One of my families at work is FINALLY traveling to China to pick up their little girl. They were talking to me before they left about how they had wanted to do a web journal, but didn't feel like coding too much and had also had a rough time finding a place where they could post pictures... So I told them about diaryland. They signed up and got the gold membership right away and sent me the link. Their first entry made me cry - it was so sweet! They're my first family to travel over, so I feel like a proud parent watching my kids graduate or something. I've been getting gushy over them a lot. I'm sorry that I can't give you all the link to the diary, but that would DEFINITELY be a breach in confidentiality. It was kind of embarassing, though, admitting to them that I knew about this and that I knew details on how to start a diary and post photos. Who ever would have thought that diaryland would translate into a job skill?

Another weird work thing happened today. Apparently the new CEO wants to schmooze with us all a little bit better, so he asked his assistant to get the names of all of the staff's significant others, spouses, and their birthdays. So she, in turn, asked the snarky girl (who I have complained about before, though I like her a LOT better now) to get that info for her. So, in true tactful form, I recieved an e-mail that was cc'd to other people who are apparently single as well "So, are you seeing anyone? CEO asked assistant who asked me to find out about your significant others so he can get to know you all a little better. I can't remember having heard you talk at the lunch table about anyone, so are you seeing anybody?" I wanted to shoot back "Yeah, well, I'm seeing George this weekend, but then I'm going on a date with Ryan next week, so we'll have to see how that goes before I give CEO a firm answer. Can I name them both?" Or perhaps I should have said "No, I'm still single, thank you for reminding me." I doubt that it was what he intended, but good lord - so Mr. CEO gets someone else to find out about my love life and has them right me a blunt e-mail so that he can pretend to give a crap about my personal life? If he wants to act like he cares, he could just ask me. Jesus.

Hooray for new people at book group! There were lots of nice new ladies there tonight. Good food, and some good discussion, and a lot of blogger-gossip about a world that I never even knew existed.

prev & next