i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

Seabrick // 2003-07-09


This past weekend was the weekend of the failed plan. Almost every plan I made did not pan out. I had a lovely weekend anyway.

Thursday night was the First Thursday Art Walk at Pioneer Square. My housemate, Amy, is really into performance art. She's going to be in a play at the Mae West Fest in two weeks, so she and a friend dressed up and went down to Occidental Park to do a little promotion of their play, and they asked me along. They painted themselves white and wore yellow shirts, black tutus, and they strapped dollies to their butts with black elastic (dollies - as in those little boards with wheels on), and they went around making faces and mimicking each other and playing with various passers-by. A lot of people stopped to watch them. Old ladies took their photos. I passed out flyers for the show. It was SO much fun to watch - one would sit on her wheeled butt and grab the other's tutu and then they'd tow each other across the sidewalk. It's sort of hard to describe in words, but it was a lot of fun.

Abby fed me a wonderful breakfast on Friday morning. We were going to go to her friend's house for a barbecue and some fireworks viewing, but her friend had mono!!! So that plan got nixed. We decided to meet up later for fireworks viewing. Since it was the weekend of failed plans, however, we managed to miss each other and not end up meeting for the fireworks at all. I went to view them by myself, perched on a lovely spot on the side of Capitol Hill. I could see the barge that the fireworks were coming off of very clearly from where I was. And in the background... I faintly heard someone playing "Emerald City" during the show (We love it! We love it!). I also ran into Veleda from the P-Patch there, so I didn't end up watching the display totally on my own.

On Saturday, I was SUPPOSED to go hiking with Mrs. R, but through a comedy of errors, I managed to be outside taking the garbage out when she drove by, and then as I came back into the house, she went out the front door and left me a note wondering where I had been. So we did not go hiking. I was so sad that I almost cried. In all fairness, I've been super-saturated-emotional-girl all week, so almost crying over missed hiking is not an exaggeration, but it is not surprising considering my state of mind. So, instead, I went off to the International District to shop for items for a carepackage. Quita, our former housemate, is at camp. She needs carepackages.

That evening, in keeping with my twarted-plan weekend, I was to see a movie with a friend. But the friend got stuck on Bainbridge Island, having missed the ferry, so I ended up going to see X Men 2 alone. I had kind of forgotten how much I enjoy going to see movies alone, though, so overall, I'd say that was a good thing. The only downside being, I didn't have a buffer when I ran into an Ex-Smoochie-Boy, MarkyMarkovitch. He kind of looks like Mr. Big from Sex and the City. Anyway, he was WAY hotter than he was when we broke it off, and he had a really cute girlfriend. Exes aren't supposed to become cuter after you leave them. There's a law somewhere, isn't there?

On Sunday, I went out to coffee with Mrs. R to make up for the missed hike. I also baked her and Pete a cherry pie. I got to hear the in-law stories before anyone else too!

Abby was supposed to meet up with Me and Amishboy today, but then she didn't make it back into town in time. Alas! So I went on a walk instead. And then I read a book. The end.

This week, I have been working overtime. We are all drowning at work. I've already put in 5 hours of overtime this week. But the thing is... I'm getting disheartened. There is NO WAY to finish everything we have to finish. It is not possible - not in a hundred hours of overtime. There's no point in staying late to work because we can't even make a dent in it. I think I'm going to have a panic attack one of these days. I can feel my heart start going and my breath getting shorter, and I almost cry each time something new comes up.

Someone stole Amy's bike right off of our backporch two nights ago. We both actually HEARD it happen. I couldn't figure out who was coming up the back stairs, but I guessed that it was Stephanie... though she didnt' come in, which was odd...And then the next morning, Amy went to take her bike to work, and it was gone. :( Just now, I heard someone come up the stairs and fiddle with a bike and then move on down the stairs. I peered out my window, and ... MY BIKE WAS GONE!!! Amy was in her room! I FLEW down the stairs, screaming at the person making off with my bike down the sidewalk, and nearly tackled........ Stephanie. She was just borrowing it. Yikes. We're all on edge around here now. I'm totally prepared to kick anyone's ass who comes up our back stairs. I will too. I learned some great moves in Kung Fu.

I found some seabrick at Golden Gardens today.

prev & next