i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

Jellyfish girl // 2003-06-24


Ok, all, as promised, here is the story of the horrible date. Most of you, my dear readers, have already heard this story from me in person.

So, this guy and I have been out on a few dates. No signs at all of any freakiness. He's the one I keep saying that I'm amazed every time he calls me. This is in part because of my wretched self-esteem issues, but it is also in part because there hasn't really been all that much chemistry there that's been saying things like "this guy likes you" or anything like that. So on Saturday night, after the solstice parade, and after I'd taken a nap, I got together with this guy. We were going to watch a movie because we were both pretty tired, so we went off and rented a nice little film. Unfortunately, Amy was here watching a movie with this girl I know she's all hot for, so we couldn't see the movie at my place. So I was like, ok, RDG said it was ok to watch a movie at her place, and I didn't think she'd mind if I just popped a video in over there. (keep in mind, I was cat sitting for her - I don't just go randomly over to her place to watch movies normally unless she is present) Besides, things with this guy had been totally tame up to this point and he kept emphasizing how he'd like to meet other people and how he's not really all that interested in dating right now blah blah blah. Ok, so we're watching the movie and he asks me for a foot rub because his feet are pretty sore after a long day of biking. I was like "Oh, I've never really given anyone a foot rub before. I'm not sure I'd be so good at that." and then I got up and walked across the room to tend to something totally unnecessary thinking that this would put an end to the conversation. But then, about five minutes later, he asks again. So I'm like, ok fine fine... and since his feet weren't awful at all, it wasn't a big deal. I gave the guy a little bit of a foot rub and then turned back to the movie. So then he's like "Hey, would you mind giving me a back rub? I'm really into casual touch. Are you comfortable with that?" And this is more in my realm. Backrubs - no big deal. I'd give pretty much anyone a back rub. I'm all about friendly back rubs. So then, a little bit later, the movie ends and he asked me what I'd like to do next. I was pretty much thinking that I'd head home, and I told him so. So then, he gets up off the sofa, and walks around the corner of the hallway, and I'm starting to get my bag together and head for the door, and then I realize that he's not headed down the hallway, but rather, he has gone into RDG's room and flopped on her bed. HE FLOPPED ON HER BED. I am not comfortable being in RDG's room, let alone having someone ELSE that she doesn't even KNOW being in her room. I was totally appalled. So, I said to him "You know, I am REALLY not comfortable with you being in there. This isn't my house, and this isn't my room, and I just don't feel comfortable with you being in this room." So he was cool with that, though he acted a little bit puzzled. So he headed back out into the living room and sat back on the couch. I sat down a little bit stiffly next to him because I was feeling a little skeezed out by this most recent turn of events. So then he takes my hand, and puts it in his crotch and goes "So, would you feel comfortable rubbing me here?" !?!?!?!??!?!!??!!??!

Ok, buddy, look, first off, that is NOT casual touch. Secondly, it's not as if we were cuddling or going in the general direction of nookie-ness or anything. It was more like "Rub my feet, now rub my back, now rub my dick." Third, this is not my house. You do NOT, as a rule, EVER get it on in a friend's house.

So I said "no, I would not feel comfortable with that."

And he goes "why not?"

WHY NOT? WHY NOT!??!! You aren't supposed to ask things like that. If someone says that something is not cool, you don't challenge them on that point.

You know, the funny thing is that most of the guys I've told this story to have been like "Yeah, and?" Back me up here ladies, this was pretty skeezy wasn't it? I'm not THAT much of a prude.

Anyway, that was the end of that date. Not the end of him, unfortunately, as I had already invited him to ANTM. So I didn't want to write about it on here because I didn't want it to be all awkward for everyone there. But then, about a half an hour before the show, I realized that there would be a good chance that someone there might ask me about the "awful date" right in front of him. So I made quite a few panicked phone calls and did a little de-breifing before the show. Of course, it was awkward. What's going to be more awkward is that I am eventually going to have to totally confront this guy. I am a non-confrontational person. I don't like to have to tell people that I'm not so fond of them. It's about the worst thing that you can ask me to do. I'm nicey-nice and I will go so far as to even try to make my worst enemy think that I like them. You might also call me "fake." Generally, I don't have to be fake too often, since overall, I like about 99% of all of the people I meet and I even like some of the people I don't like (remind me to tell you all about David Green someday).

Anyway, I'm going to have to confront him. He apparently doesn't take hints very well as became apparent from a little story he told me about the last girl he dated after our "incident" on Saturday night. His excuse for acting the way he was, was that he was "in a weird head space" because this girl told him to "stop calling" and that she "didn't want to be friends anymore." And then tonight, he was trying to make plans with me for this weekend. Um. No. No more plans with you, sir. And I'm going to have to tell him that. So here's to my growing a backbone sometime this week. I'm awful at it. I've hung out for YEARS with people I've not been so fond of. I was even nice to a stalker I once had - he stalked me for at least three years before I finally put my foot down.

Maybe I should just move away and then I wouldn't have to deal with it. I could try to rent a truck this weekend...

prev & next