i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

Just Ducky // 2003-05-28


It's late, so I'm keeping this brief.

I have become what I like to call a Seattle Weather Wimp. I've been here for five years and finally, I have acclimated. Last year I was a borderline SWW - this year I have made the cut for a full SWW title. Abby and I were talking about the weather this weekend and I actually said "It's been HOT lately." Abby agreed (she's a SWW too - she's going to wilt when she goes to Boston this summer!!!). You see, I don't think it's gotten past the mid 70's yet. I've come to the point in my wimp-ness where, if I can't wear long pants and a long sleeved shirt or light sweater and feel comfortable, it's HOT. I've also gotten so used to the idea that summer doesn't come until July 4th, that I wear a coat every day still - even though it's in the 60's and 70's. I'm braced for June-u-ary - a strange phenomenon in Seattle wherein the temperature suddenly drops and the cold rain pours down all through June - a month that was firmly in my mind as "summer" until I came here. Every year, I'd expect perfect warm sunny weather in June, and every year I've been disappointed. But with the nice weather lately, I'm starting to wonder if maybe June IS going to be part of the summer this year. I'm trying not to get my hopes up.

By the way, I haven't always been like this. I come from Maryland and I used to live on a peninsula, surrounded by water, and with no air conditioning. It could get to be 90 and I wouldn't bat an eye. It was only "hot" if at night you were too hot to sleep with a sheet and if the humidity required more than two showers in one day.

This morning, I got onto my bus at its first stop, in the bus tunnel. There were about five others who got on the bus at the same time, so most of the seats were empty. I settled down to read, when some big hairy guy slid into the seat with me. I sat up so straight, so fast, there was no hiding my obvious discomfort at being sat with in an empty bus. Luckily, it was just Chris. Chris is a friend from college, and fellow Marylander (and fellow SWW as of this year as well - I guess 5 years is the acclimation rate). He's a very strange boy. He kind of looks like one of those guys who would have listened to Def Leppard in high school - he's got the choke dog collar around the neck, the big trench coat, the long hair and full beard, the combat boots. He doesn't talk like one, though. He almost always responds to "So, how are you today?" with "Ducky."

I think that Mr. Coffee Man might actually be flirting with me. I'm not sure if I want to flirt back or not, though. I've already stereotyped him, in my typical judgemental manner. I think he might be a little too much like John.

prev & next