i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

SARS on Mars // 2003-05-22


Ok, sorry about the whine and geez fest yesterday. I'm back to feeling A-Ok about my hearing again - like wearing glasses, almost.

Is it me, or is this year's SIFF a little less exciting than usual? Usually I have approximately 46 movies that I want to see. This year, I'm not passionate about ANY of them... and I have about 15 or so in my "maybe I want to see this" category.

It's just as well, I suppose, because I still haven't finished cleaning my room. It was almost done two weeks ago, but now it's back in the "what color is my rug again?" state.

Every single person I spoke to today on the phone asked me about the SARS situation. Every. Single. One.

Thanks to Ms. Reddirtgirl, I have been chain smoking the Shin's song called "New Slang." I listened to it about six times on my way to work, twice during lunch, and six times on my way home. It plays in my head all day long. ANd the funny thing is, I don't know the words at all. I totally can't understand what the hell the guy is saying. But when I sing the words that I hear him saying, the song is hilarious.

Which leads me to the good thing about being hearing impaired, as pointed out by Ms. Flashingreds to me via e-mail: the misunderstood conversation factor. Take my hearing aids away, and I am a gold mine of non-sequitor responses. One night, when I was sleeping with John, he said something to me after I took out my hearing aids that sounded like "Blue kitten dishwasher spatula?" He never told me what he really said, but I'm going to be curious for the rest of my life.

If anyone is curious as to my own personal hearing impaired lyrics to New Slang, please let me know. I will send you MY lyrics to the song.

prev & next