i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

CHINA! YEAH! // 2004-10-21


I'm still working out the precise details, but I am FINALLY going to China! I got the final word from the big cheese at work today. She's sending me there for longer than I had anticipated. It looks like I will get to see Guilin in addition to the business stuff. I may even end up spending Thanksgiving in China. That would definitely be a memorable experience! One of my former co-workers is living in Guilin, so I will either be with her before I start the business part (in which case I'll be in Guilin for 2 - 3 days) or I will visit her afterwards, in which case I can stay there for almost a week including Thanksgiving without actually taking any time off work! Anyway, I am SO excited. I've never traveled outside of North America. I even have a layover in Japan!

I also got my visa back from the Chinese Consulate today. I finally have something in my passport! When I went to Mexico for a few weeks in 2002, they gave me a little slip of paper, but no stamps! I have always wanted to travel - ever since I was a little kid. My favorite toys were my grandmother's globe and my U.S. puzzle map, and my favorite reading material was the National Geographic. I think I would be happy living my life out of a suitcase, traveling around the world. Yeah, I love to come home and I love being grounded, and I love nesting, but more than anything else, I like to explore new places.

And you'd better believe that I'm going to do tons of shopping. Everyone who gets a present from me this Christmas can bet that its going to come from China.

The only downside of the whole trip is that I'm missing the Magnetic Fields concert. I hope I get another chance to see them.

prev & next