i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

BBC // 2004-09-06


I was listening to BBC today and it struck me that the British have a VERY different way of reporting than we do. I was listening to an interview with some management consulting company who had done a study that showed that actually, the British and the French produced less than their U.S. counterparts not because they have more vacation that U.S. workers do, but because of poor management. And they're chatting about this for a little bit and then:

BBC reporter: "Briefly, now, I have to ask, isn't it rather convenient that you would find that the solution to this problem is better management, being that you are a management consulting company and in order to remedy the problem, companies would have to hire you to fix it?"

Interviewee: "Umm No! Our survey was based on facts and this is what our research showed and..."

BBC reporter: "Mmmm. Back to you, Patricia."

About 80% of the BBC reports I have heard end like this. I find it really interesting given some of the things I have heard about reporters getting kicked out of press conferences with GWB and other Republican politicians for asking pointed questions or asking them to explain things that they've said. I wish the press here were more pointed about things.

prev & next