i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

Three Hour Tour // 2004-07-27


This past weekend was my island get-away weekend. On Saturday, S____ and I went to Decatur Island for his company picnic. We went kayaking - it was GORGEOUS - and saw seals swimming not too far from our kayak. We could even see deep down under the water where big purple starfish were clinging to the steep sides of the islands. We weren't too terribly social with his co-workers. It was an interesting mix of people. His whole company works from home, so they never see each other (or anyone else if they don't want to) in person. It was very different than any work function I've been to before.

On Sunday my photography class went to Whidbey Island to do a photo shoot. We all tromped all over the grounds taking picture s of everything with all kinds of weird cameras. The whole day was a little off for me because I had to get up at 4:45AM in order to get to the ferry with my friend, Lauren, in time. I was pretty exhausted all day, but I think I got some great shots.

Work has been dramatic lately. My pseudo-supervisor has announced that she is quitting. Neither SirYi nor I want to take over her position - though neither of us has been asked yet. I am now the second-longest coordinator in the office - which is very sad considering that I started only a year and a half ago. Also, they hint to certain folks in the office that they will be hired as a peer to SirYi's and my position. I can't stand the waiting on this and I wish they'd tell us what's going on. Also, I made a complaint about this super-snooty co-worker and it is starting to look like she might be asked to leave because of my comment. Yes, a million other people have complained about her, but this time, it looks like something is going to happen. I don't feel very good about that, even though what she did was very wrong. I don't like to cause people's jobs to disappear.

I was thinking that she'd do very well at my old job, and just out of curiosity, I looked. I couldn't believe it, but my old job was open! Anyone want a 7 days on/7 days off job that pays pretty well and you get to work with nice people (albeit from the hours of 6AM to 4:30PM)? Great benefits!

prev & next