i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

Splendiferous weekend // 2004-06-27


I just had the loveliest weekend! Steve (QESD - the nickname which I'm going to retire for a while) and I had a nice dinner out on the sidewalk part of a local cafe on Friday night. I spent the other half of my evening trying to clear my clutter with Feng Shui. It's not working so well, but I am confident that I will get there. The I Ching says so.

Saturday morning, I slept in for the first time in a while, listened to Wait Wait Don't Tell Me and This American Life on NPR while Feng Shui-ing my sock drawer.

Saturday afternoon, Steve and I did a bit of grocery shopping for Mrs.-Roboto's BBQ/welcome Earl-the-grill party. We spent the evening attending said party, which was absolutely lovely and hosted by the ever-gracious Mrs.R & Pete. I think that I most enjoyed meeting Mrs.R's backdoor neighbor's dad. I have a soft spot for sweet old men who can tell good stories. Also, I was successful in mingling for pretty much the first time ever. Usually, I commit a major party faux pas by attaching myself to the hip of whomever I feel the most comfortable with - but this time, I walked around and joined in on at least three or four conversations!

Steve and I went on a long bike ride today, his first real bike ride with his new bike (he did ride it home from the shop where he purchased it, but i'm not counting that). We went up to Matthew's Beach where we lazed in the sun. I bought him a shaved-ice (where I come from, they're called sno-cones, but whatever) and had a bite or two myself. It was surprisingly good - I always hated sno-cones because they were too gross-sweet, but the Matthew's Beach shaved-ice man knows his stuff. I'm totally out of biking shape, though. It was quite embarassing. I was about to pass out on the way home - possibly from dehydration, or perhaps just out-of-shape-ness. Also, my ass hurts.

This week should be quite busy. Tomorrow night, my boy is taking me to the game, Tuesday night, we will kick ass in trivia (we won a few weeks ago!), and then I'm going to be house sitting for a while with the sweetest cat on earth (who has the disconcerting, yet somehow endearing habit of exfolliating my forhead with his tongue at about 4AM). I don't know how I'm going to manage sitting at my desk tomorrow though. I feel like someone has given me a swift kick in the rear.

prev & next