i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

Ah, put your own pithy title here. // 2003-10-29


I thought of all kinds of brilliant things that I wanted to write during my most recent hiatus, but of course, I didn't have time to write any of it down, so I have forgotten most of it.

This is probably going to be a long entry though - but eat it up because at the rate I'm going, you won't hear from me for another month.

I passed my one-year diaryland anniversary last week! Yay!

I have been enjoying lots of time with my boyfriend. He. Is. So. Perfect. He's sweet and wonderful and amazing. He cooks for me sometimes. We have fun just sitting together. We can talk forever and not run out of things to say. We have quiet moments and it's not uncomfortable. He's thoughtful. He gives good backrubs. He's very creative, though I'm not sure if he would describe himself that way. He's imaginative. Yeah, I'm all smitten and stuff. I spend all of my free time with him. I'm not embarassed to be seen with him in public* (*see entries about previous boyfriend - anything dated pre-valentines day 2003). I want to tell him about everything all the time. I can't wait to talk to him again - even if we just parted company a few hours before.

Yeah, things are going well.

On other fronts, work is still insane. My three-day-weekend I was supposed to have (due to having worked overtime and needing a day off) got pared down to a one-day weekend. So, I insisted on taking Monday off and I still have tons of overtime to take out in the form of comp time. In fact, if I take my comp time, I will end up spending more time commuting to and from work than I will have in the office.

I went to the Clem Snide show last Monday and have spent the week and a half kicking myself for not having bought the CD's after the last time I went to their show (over a year ago - that was the show at which Dandruff Muncher earned her name). I could have been listening to this stuff for a year by now! I have to decide which album to get next. The opening band, Califone, was actually pretty good... well, until they started a jam session at the end of their set. I LOATHE jam sessions. Does anyone really like them? I mean, who really enjoys listening to atonal guitar whine and a repetatitive drum/bass line for twenty minutes? Even most of the audience was starting to stare at the ceiling or their shoes. But otherwise, I really liked the band!

I met QESD's parents. And it was okay. Actually, it went really well. We just sort of showed up one day and said "hi" no-pressure-no-meal-no-awkward-conversation-meet-the-parents-like. They are apparently aware of the fact that I have been staying over at night though. Thank god they're nothing like my parents.

Speaking of my parents - I called my dad to tell him that I was planning to come home for Christmas - and he goes "Oh. Well, too bad we aren't going to be here." WHAT?! Yeah, they aren't going to be there for Christmas and they didn't bother to tell me. I guess I can still visit with my mom, but I am NOT happy about that prospect AT ALL. Now I'm not so sure I want to go home at all... and I don't know what to do because I don't want to stay here either. Ah, the joyous holiday season. I hate Christmas. Bah Humbug.

I got a credit card and it came along with the worst idea I have ever seen - a mini credit card that you attach to your keyring! What idiot thought of this? As if I didn't already have to worry about losing my wallet - now I'd have to be paranoid about my keys too.

I went to buy some black shoes over the weekend. I was on a search for shoes to go with my black dress-clothes for work. I've been commiting a serious fashion faux pas for the last year or so - wearing brown shoes with black pants. So, I was on the lookout for some great shoes and I found a pair of black ones... but they also had them in Shiny Red. So I deliberated over the shoes, trying both pairs on over and over until the store was about to close... and I got the red ones. But they're shiny! I've gotten tons of compliments on them, so I feel somewhat validated. I've never experienced this before, but I really did fall in love with a pair of shoes. I feel like I am a woman now.

prev & next