i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

Hold the applause // 2003-10-01


QESD was trying to get to know me a little better yesterday by asking about what I was like in High School. He asked if I wrote bad poetry. BOY did I ever!!! And so, for your reading pleasure tonight, I have found quite possibly the WORST peice of poetry I ever wrote.

*ahem*

Cold Black Night

by Ms. Itzie, age 15

Cold black night

I sit alone

With only the stars

As my companions

I came to the stream to look,

Look into it's translucent waters

I see the real me

Through the mirror into my soul

I hold a sadness inside

I hurt you

I did not want to

But it was too late

You became silent

How can I explain that I love you?

Would you laugh in my face?

Those words are meaningless,

Used over and over again

It no longer matters

You built a wall of silence against me

To hide your pain

I don't know how to climb that wall

Tranquil waters lap at my feet

Violent currents splash from my eyes

The moon darts behind a cloud

I can't see my soul anymore

I don't want to

I close my eyes before the moon reappears

I don't need love

Love is pain in disguise

I empty my soul into the swift waters

And set it free from my limited body

And send it to the sea.

(May 27, 1991)

Thank you. You may hold your applause.

prev & next