i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

SMC connection and a weekend wrap up // 2003-09-21


I've gone back to photo class! Hurray! I printed a lot of stuff. I need to get back into the swing of it, though - not many of the photos came back "perfect."

Due to the extreme stress of the last couple of weeks at work, they gave me off Friday! It was WONDERFUL. We're all scheduled for overtime this week already - Wednesday night is the night we have all the families in for tea and give them an update. So I spent Friday walking around on Broadway, doing laundry, and cleaning my room.

Friday night, I went to QESD's house and had dinner with some of his friends. We watched Say Anything and I crooned over Lloyd Dobbler. QESD complained that Lloyd is a hard image to live up to - but you know, Laura Croft from Tomb Raider is even harder to live up to thankyouverymuch. Lucky for Mr. QESD, I already think of him as my own personal Lloyd Dobbler to a certain degree. We've been spending lots of late nights talking on the phone, and we've been getting together fairly often. I think it's safe to say that there may be something going on there pretty soon. I'm probably not going to write a heck of a lot about it because I KNOW he reads this sometimes and I just can't write about it freely. Some things are just going to have to be private.

On Saturday I got together with Chelle, a vauge acquaintance from college with whom I became reconnected thanks to friendster. We hung with the same crowd, just at different times - she was a senior when I was a freshman. But there was definitely a SMC connection there - we'd both been part of the co-op and we knew some of the same people and... there's something about having lived in that part of Southern Maryland that makes it easy to relate to people. We baked bread, made soup from scratch, and we made pie (of course) from plums that she picked in her yard. We listened to some very SMC music - Ben Harper's first album, Dar Williams, and Patty Griffin's Living With Ghosts. I can bring back the sights and smells of Southern Maryland just by hearing certain songs. It was a lovely time.

Today, I went to a co-worker's home in Issaquah for a PowerPuff Girl marathon! We didn't watch every single episode that we had on DVD, but we did watch quite a few. We also made pie - from blackberries in her back yard. I had THREE peices of pie this weekend! Yikes. I'm definitely going to the gym on Tuesday night (already have plans for Monday).

Ok, I'm going all "livejournal" on you for a moment here:

Song of the moment: Two Characters In Search of a Country Song (Magnetic Fields)

prev & next