i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

I'm Still a Seattle Weather Wimp // 2003-09-07


Despite the fact that my weekend was only one day long, it was pretty damn good. Yes, we worked on Saturday. The day flew by and we're still nowhere near done anything. But I'm not going to talk about work anymore because it's about all I talk about anymore (and it's about all that is going on in my life these post-wedding-trip days).

Last night, as I was walking home from the bus stop, Lauren passed by in her car. I was falling asleep on my feet, but I agreed to go out for dinner with her anyway - after I stopped to get a triple latte. We had a wonderful time. She's such a sweetheart. She's my photo-pal. She's very honest about how my photos look and which ones are better and which aren't all-that. She's got some really good work too. She's come a long way in the five years that I've known her.

Today all of my housemates were around in the morning and so we all decided to do some house cleaning. It's starting to look pristine in here.

You can tell who loves the summer and who loves the winter around here. Summer people start wearing shorts on the first day that it hits 55 in the spring and they continue with the shorts and t-shirts until it drops back into the 40's. Winter people, like myself, will jump at the chance to put on a nice sweater, sit inside and drink some espresso. It's finally grey and in the 60's again! Yeah, by the end of the Seattle winter I can't wait to get outside in the sunshine again - but after a long sunny Seattle summer with nary a cloud in sight for months on end, I'm longing for an excuse to stay inside and read or watch movies or to sit in a cafe and write letters.

I went to see Trevor's new place today. We did a little walk around part of Capitol Hill I've never seen before. There are some AMAZING (ostentatious) houses around here. He's got an incredible one bedroom apartment for a mere $440 - wood floors, plenty of space, built in bookshelves, gorgeous view. I'm kind of jealous. He's trying to get me to take the ground level apartment when it opens up. I'm almost tempted, but I've gotten content with my house again now that we've got Gretchen here. We have a good mix of people and there isn't much to get into conflicts over now. We each have our own phone, we're all pretty clean, we like each other's music, we cook together some... what more can you ask for?

I cooked an incredible meal tonight - I'm planning to make it last all week for lunches! I've got apples for pie and I'll be making biscuits later this week. Yum! That's another good thing about the fall/winter - it really puts me in the mood to cook. When it's hot, I tend to eat cereal with milk for dinner - the very idea of turning on the stove is abominable in the 75 degree heat.

prev & next