i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

Charge It. // 2003-08-24


I'm not usually a spendthrift, but this weekend, something got into my blood. Maybe it's because the school year is coming up and despite the fact that I'm not going to school, I feel the urge at this time of year to purchase pens and notebooks and art supplies. I now have a set of Cray Pas, and two new pens. But it didn't stop there! I was at Uwajimaya and they have so many pretty ceramics! And I've always wanted one of those spike-y things that turns any bowl into a vase. And then I needed flowers to go in the vase! And then I found this great shampoo that I haven't seen anywhere else in ages! And the TEA! So many kinds of TEA! Nevermind that I only drink about ten cups of tea all winter and I already have a cupboard full of teas.

But the greatest find this weekend was a total accident. I wandered into a store on 15th that I don't usually go into. They had a jacket in the window and it looked cool and I just felt like going in. But on closer inspection, the jacket wasn't all that cool. BUT! The music playing in the store was... very familiar. It was something I'd heard somewhere before... a soundtrack maybe?... and I'd wanted to know who it was when I'd heard it then too. So I went up to the counter and asked about it. It's Kid Loco - Jesus Life For Children Under 12 Inches. I LOVE this album. Do you even have to ask? Of course I bought it. Also, the girl behind the counter invited me to her party after we had a great conversation about various artists and other good music. I couldn't make it due to some logistics and the fact that I've been hanging out at home since Becca is moving away tomorrow. (Yes, we're getting another housemate - the third since I started this blog last October) But she seemed like a nice girl! And she introduced me to my latest chain-smoking album obsession. I've heard it all the way through about ten times today alone. Becca is currently chain-smoking the Magnetic Fields & Other Stephin Merrit Music mix I gave her. I think Mr. Merrit has a new biggest fan. It seems that she's going to go out and buy every Magnetic Fields item available! I love introducing people to new music!

prev & next