i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

Huzzah // 2003-07-14


I am starting to wonder if I am manic. I have gone from being a sad sack all last week to being THE HAPPIEST PERSON ALIVE this weekend. WHEEEEEEEE!

I got out of work early on Friday because I'd done lots of overtime. So, I came home and went to the P-patch and did some weeding and harvested my first onion. We also have millions of peas. Very yummy sweet peas at that. I've had so many peas now, though, that the very thought of peas makes me feel ill. I've been eating meals made up entirely of peas several times a week to try and keep up with what the patch is producing, but I can't do it anymore.

Also, on Broadway, I saw this tough looking kid heading my way... and realized that it was one of the kids that I used to work with at the youth center in my AmeriCorps days! We almost didn't recognize each other. I for one, used to have hair down to my butt, and he didn't used to have facial hair. But anyway, one of my babies is all grown up! He's going to college! I'm so proud!!! He was always one of our most promising kids too - he was always very acutely interested in politics and whatnot. I think that he will go far. I got all weepy seeing him again.

Stephanie's mom was in town this weekend also. When I came home, we all sat out in the living room and had a nice long talk, and then Stephanie and her mom invited me to go out and see Winged Migration with them. In keeping with my overly moody trends this past week, I got all weepy at the hunting scene and very upset about what we are doing in the environment during the oil slick scene. I am feeling very much anti-car again. As convenient as they are, they're really fairly evil, and I think that it's too easy, once you own one, to start driving it all over because it's easier and more convenient. I'm going to try to hold out longer.

On Saturday, I went out and got into Abby's car and drove alone down to Puyallup (you can see how long my resolve lasted - I can be such a hypocrite) and I went berry picking! I picked heaps of raspberries, and it only cost me $4.50 for a flat and a half (whereas that's how much it costs for one little carton of organic ones in the grocery store). I baked two pies and I still have a bowl full of raspberries in the fridge. Stephanie and her mom came home just after I finished baking the pies, and they made lentil soup (with the onion from the p-patch). Then we watched movies together, ate soup, and then had pie with ice cream for desert. I've also found my Sex and the City buddy. Stephanie likes it too!

I also bought an accoustic guitar. I was going to purchase one as soon as I had the money to do it, but then I was going to move, so I decided not to buy one because it would be a pain to move... but now I'm here again, indefinitely, so I went ahead and got the guitar. Now I need to take lessons. I spent part of Saturday afternoon and Sunday morning looking up tabs to all of my favorite songs. My fingers are red and sore.

This evening, I went to the Capitol Hill Block Party, which was FREE last year. I'd invited lots of friends to go see U.S.E with me, and I'm thankful that most of them didn't go because I was NOT expecting it to be $10 to get in. Yeesh. I guess it would make sense if I'd been going to shows all day, but that's pretty steep for one 40 minute set. Stephanie didn't want to pay that much for it, so she stood outside to listen with Amishboy. About half way through their set, though, someone came up and tapped on my back, and there was Stephanie! They stopped making people pay. So she and I boogied on down together. It was SO much fun dancing with her! I wish I could have a pocket-sized Stephanie to take with me everywhere. She's SO MUCH FUN.

And THEN, Tim gave me a call. He was up on Capitol Hill! Tim was a friend of mine from High School and he moved out to Seattle um... today, more or less. He's been in and out going to conferences and whatnot, but he's here now to stay! We went out and got some coffee and walked around Capitol Hill a little bit. I've got someone else to go touring about the city with me! I LOVE having new people in town because there is nothing in the world I love more than showing people all of the cool things that there are to do in Seattle. It gives me an excuse to go do them, and a partner in crime to go do them with. Yay! Arboretum, Tea Garden, Kayaking, ID, here I come! Also, I think that Tim might go as my date to the wedding in Ohio at the end of the summer. That would be really nice because otherwise, I'm going to be kicking it alone in Columbus. Ohio is pretty much my least favorite state in the country.

One of my former housemates and favorite people in the whole wide world, Gretchen, is planning a comeback to Seattle! She's going to be looking for a place at the exact same time that Becca is leaving. Gretchen is fantabulous!

Also, I heart friendster. It has helped me reconnect with three college friends I'd totally lost touch with. Huzzah for friendster!

I think that it's all of this re-connecting with old friends that has really lifted my mood. Maybe it's not that I'm manic. Maybe it's just that lots of great people are moving to/moving back to Seattle and I'm getting in touch with lots of wonderful people who I've missed dearly, and that I'm making a new friend with Stephanie. I was definitely feeling pretty fatalistic about Abby moving, but I'm feeling like it's all going to be okay again, now.

prev & next