i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

First Emanuela, then Aarati, now this. // 2003-07-02


Sure, lots and lots of stuff has been going on. Yes, I've been in hiding. I don't like writing about sad things very much, and I'm kind of sad lately (I've hardly eaten or slept in several days). So, I'm sorry, chickens, for having been absent all week.

Let's go highlight a few of the good things that happened this week instead.

I went out to brunch with Becca on Saturday. We also found the coolest yard sale ever. I purchased sweaters even though it was at least 80 outside. I also pulled all of my sweaters out of my closet to put them into storage, and then I got tired and left a giant sweater monster on my floor.

I finally purchased a cell phone.

I went to see the Brady Bunch Movie in Volunteer Park with the gaggle of lesbians. One of the drunkest ones hit on me. I guess the alcohol affected her gaydar.

I went on a hike with Red & Amish on Sunday. I use the word "with" liberally here. I forced them to charge ahead while I loped along behind, a bit out of breath and definitely out of shape. I turned lots of lovely shades of pink and red. But it was a pretty hike none-the-less, and it allowed me to a) be alone outside - something I miss dearly living here in the city and b) do a lot of thinking, which may or may not have been a good thing.

My housemate Amy is wonderfully, incredibly sweet and amazing sometimes. She comes off as a very gruff person, but over the last few days, she has said some of the nicest things anyone has ever said to me.

I finished Harry Potter (thanks in part to the fact that I am suffering from insomnia). I am half way through my next book, and I have another one waiting after that.

I've been going on walks along the river at work during lunch. It's pretty outside. I am getting freckles. Summer has managed to come before July 4th this year. (yeah yeah, only by a few days, but shut up already)

Stephanie came with me to America's Next Top Model! Stephanie really liked it a lot. I LOVE Stephanie - our newest housemate. She's so much fun to have around! All of my housemates rock my world right now.

Speaking of A!N!T!M!, I found out that we aren't the only 8 people in the nation watching the show. I can't believe what a phenomenon it is. Here is Flora's journal. I mentioned her earlier as she is in my favorite musicians list on my profile and also found my journal and started hers one day before I started this one. Anyway, that's her. And she's watching ANTM too! And so are her friends!

Also speaking of ANTM, I was devastaed to learn yesterday that next week IS the last one. And I'm going to miss it. It's Housemate-Amy's birthday and we're all going out to celebrate her. I wouldn't miss that for the world. So I guess I'm going to have to find someone (ahem) to tape it for me and then I'll have to watch it on my wee lonesome. Half the experience for me, though, is watching it with a bunch of people.

Also speaking of ANTM again, I met another Marylander there. That's a rarity.

I'm going to be a bridesmaid again. My cousin/best-friend-since-birth/partner-in-crime has asked me to be in her wedding! I'm completely honored! I am also sealing my fate according to the old saying "Twice a bridesmaid, never a bride." I wouldn't be shocked if I ended up in the role one or two more times, though. I wonder what they say about that. Four times a bridesmaid, never another date? Like it matters.

I forgot to go to happy hour after work tonight, so I was all prepared to sit at home and read some more, when Abby's "Beautiful Boston Boy" - let's just call him Zuk from now on, ok? - Zuk called and invited me to play Scrabble. We've been playing over the internet for months now, but we've never played a live game. He usually kicks my ass online, though right now I'm beating him in the online game. Well, he kicked my ass to the moon and back tonight too. He had almost double my score. Final score: 452 to 250. In my defense, I will say that I had 5 E's at one point. I turned in a bunch of E's only to draw two more at another point. I had shit letters. But then again, a GOOD Scrabble player is supposed to be able to balance their rack. I failed at that rather miserably.

Semi-non-sequitor time here. I learned one really great thing in Drama class in high school. It's a life skill. Before doing anything, think "what is my motive here?" And sometimes, you will stop yourself from doing something really really stupid. I just saved you all from a long paragraph of bitching and moaning courtesy of a cranky, sleep deprived Ms. Itzie. You're welcome.

You're not getting away totally free here, though. I'm just going to say this: Why do I always end up dating guys that I'm not really that interested in? I go out with guys because they're interested in me - never because I'm interested in them. Why can't I just find someone who is mutually interested? That's happened to me ONCE in my life. Pumpkinfucker. And we all know how well that turned out. Maybe the problem is that I have a thing for guys who are "out of my ilk" (Nicole won't let me say "out of my league"). Who knows? But it's getting me down.

prev & next