i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

Boys have cooties // 2003-06-23


The conversation that I was dreading having at work today turned out to be nothing to worry about in the end. I lost a good deal of sleep over it for nothing. I didn't have to tell my family that they couldn't adopt. But then one of my very favorite families decided that they didn't want to persue adoption anymore and withdrew from the program. That was sad. I hope they're ok. It's weird sometimes, being an adoption coordinator - you get to see some of the most personal parts of people's lives. You watch marriages disintegrate sometimes - you see husbands and wives who can't quite agree on the whole children thing - you share their joy when they get pregnant right before they finish their adoption (and they usually go through with the adoption too!). It's very strange. And then, I hear they forget about you after its all over. I don't think I'm going to forget some of my families, though. It's easy to get quite attached to them.

Also, if any of you out there know of a couple who are both over 30 and at least one of them is under 55 (or a single mom for that matter) who would be willing to or interested in adopting a precocious little 11 year old Chinese boy, please let me know!!! We have this WONDERFUL kid who is available for adoption, but it's VERY VERY hard to find families for older boys. In fact, did you know that most people, when adopting, choose to adopt girls? It's very rare for a family to ask for a boy. And there are PLENTY of boys availabe - even in China where most of the abandonded children ARE girls... but by the time the kids get older, there are few girls left - only lots of little boys. Anyway, there's this WONDERFUL kid that we've all fallen in love with at work and we're trying to find him a family. I hope we find someone. He's the coolest kid ever. I would adopt him myself if I were a good deal older and more stable.

I had dinner with Bookstore Boy #2 tonight. I wasn't feeling as bubbly as I usually am when I'm with him, but we still had a good time! He told me lots of good stories. I can't wait to visit him in the mountains this summer. I hope that we can pick berries and make pies. I think that would be great fun. But regardless, I want to visit their hermit hovel in the mountains again soon!

Also, I am swearing off dating for a good long while. Men are icky.

prev & next