i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

Don't Stop Believin' // 2003-05-19


I had a weird and lovely weekend.

Friday evening was spent with red, bird, monkey and crew. We tried to cheer up Birdgyrl a bit, but I wasn't very good at giving advice or lightening up the situation. In fact, I would have to say that I was bad at it.

T-Rock has an amazing apartment.

I had the most painful headache ever on Saturday. It actually made me feel like I was going to be ill. But I went about town picking up things for a really cool care package I'm making for a friend (Amy who lived in Bangladesh but used to live in Seattle). I got in touch with MonAmy in DC. It seems that Peter may be joining the foreign service or something like that. Lucky bastard. I'm still yearning for the Peace Corps in Kiribati. I keep dreaming of going. I do like my job - don't get me wrong - but leaving everything I know behind to live on a little island in the South Pacific for two years sounds so... tantalizing. No internet. No TV. I'd get to do a lot of letter-writing! I've been thinking lately that it would be cool to only correspond with my friends via postal mail. Even my friends in Seattle. Of course, half of my friends are already pissed at me for not having a cell phone - I can only imagine what would happen if I gave up e-mail and the regular phone too. But there just isn't anything better than receiving mail in the mailbox! Ok, maybe mangos are a little better, but only if you find a nice ripe one.

So, uh, where was I again? Ah yes, Saturday. So I was supposed to go to Serena's house for poker, but then it was apparently cancelled. This is the third time I've set aside a weekend night to do something with Serena and then found out (after turning down other plans) that it was cancelled and that she hadn't called to tell me. A little frustrating. But anyway! I went to see Down With Love instead. It was just as well since I'd been feeling so bad all day. But ah! This movie!!! What a lovely movie! It was modeled after one of those 60's sex comedies. It was so cute! And after the movie, you felt like maybe, just maybe life could be just like the movies. After the movie, I was in the lobby and hey! here comes that cute guy who was obviously there alone too sitting just down the aisle from me. I think he's coming over to talk to me! He's headed right this way! He's headed right for me... he's headed right for me... he's... headed right towards the bathrooms which are right behind me. Oh well. And for a little while, after the movie, I felt like I was as cute as Renee Zwelleger. Also of note, this was the first movie in which Ewan McGregor was prominently featured that I did not get up and walk out of in the middle. I've seen three Ewan McGregor movies that are all reportedly very good and in each one, I got up and left before it was over. I NEVER do that. I even sat all the way through Happiness despite the fact that it caused me to writhe around on the floor in disgust. And furthermore, I LIKED the movie. How about that?

On Sunday, I decided that it was high time that I got my hair cut. It was the most frightening experience I have ever had at a barber shop. I should have known better. I should have gone to Birdgyrl's sexy hair cut man, but instead, I went to the same place I've gotten my hair cut the last two times. This time, there was a hairdresser there who ... ah... didn't seem to have a full command of the English language. I explained what I wanted about five times, demonstrated how someone else at the same shop had done it before, and did just about everything I could do except for drawing up blueprints, and STILL she wasn't seeming to understand what I was talking about. But, I decided what the heck? I'd be adventurous and let her cut it anyway. So everything's going fine, though she's cutting it a little shorter than what I'd wanted... and then she gets out this... THING. And she starts hacking at my hair with it and huge chunks of hair are flying every which way! I start thinking to myself, "It will grow back. It's only hair. I can grow it back. I'll make hats the new thing. I'll go downtown right after this is over and buy a bunch of cute hats and I'll be a fashion maven. Hats! Oh fuck." In the end, it came out ok, I guess. It's a little shorter in the front than I had wanted, but in some ways it's closer to what I'd wanted than past hair cuts had been. It's kind of grown on me now and I actually like it so far.

My terror of a bad hair cut is the very reason that I grew my hair out between the years of 1994 and 2002. I only got it trimmed once or twice in between those years. It was down to my butt and heck, you can't really go wrong with a haircut like that. I was traumatized by my mother as a child. She once tricked me into nodding something about some woman's hair that I hadn't really seen. I still remember the day. I was 4, sitting in the shopping cart at the A&P grocery store and she said "How would you like to have your hair cut like that?" and I said "uh huh" even though I didn't see the woman. What I REALLY wanted was to have long Laura Ingalls Wilder hair like on Little House on the Prairie. I'd have two giant braids! But no, apparently my mom was really into the "Dorothy Hammil" look. I got a pixie cut of some sort. It was really awful. The very last time I ever let my mom get my hair cut was when I was 12. She absolutely INSISTED that I get my hair layered. It was the most god-awful cut EVER. It was a fucking MULLET. I had a fucking dandelion cut on top of my head and then long straight hair coming out of the back. I looked a little like Bon Jovi. That was the beginning of the end for me. My reputation at school went out the window and I ended up transfering out of that school the next year. And NEVER again did my mom get to pick my hair cut. I still resent her for it. Can you tell?

I also went on a lovely bike ride and visited the Robotos, galavanted along the Fremont Public Market, grabbed lunch at the Essential Bakery, and had a generally lovely day biking along the Burke Gillman trail. There were tons of other bikers out there too. We grinned at each other as we passed by. It was like we had a big secret amongst ourselves. It was a beautiful day and we were on our bikes!

Oh, and also, I went to look at a stuido in a gorgeous little building I've always wanted to live in. Unfortunately, it was oddly shapped, was on the first floor, and faced north. But it was cute as a button! And I'll be watching that building for future openings too. What a cute place!

And finally, last night, Quita and I went to see Amy perform at On The Boards 12 Minutes Max. She was dressed like a whore and she winked at me and made lots of kissy faces at me. It was SO cool to see her performing. Amy is just a trip! After the show, Amy, Quita, and a bunch of Amy's friends and I went out for drinks. On the way back, they were all singing Journey songs at the top of their lungs (I don't know Journey well enough to sing along) and it was the funniest thing because all along the street, total strangers would sing along with us. It was like a rock video or something. People in cars would shout out the next line as they passed us. Who knew that Journey could be such a bonding experience?

prev & next