i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

Here is my handle, here is my spout // 2003-05-03


Oh. My. God. Dirty Three was amazing. They did not disappoint - he spit onstage, as promised!

AND I found someone to go with me. I'd about given up hope. I got out of work early today since I didn't get to leave on Wednesday until 9:30PM. I went down to Lowes to pick up some rocks for the p-patch and then spent the entire afternoon making a little path in the plot. And I weeded a lot too. You wouldn't believe how many weeds have sprung up in the last two weeks. So there I am crawling around on all fours, attempting to dig in the last few pieces of rock and figuring that I'll just give my ticket to someone at the door, when Abby wanders into the P-Patch. She was on her way home from work and saw me slaving away and thought she'd stop by. I hadn't even asked her to go with me to the concert since the last time we'd talked, she had plans for this whole weekend, but I mentioned the show to her anyway - and she was FREE! Hurray! And she'd never heard Dirty Three before, so it was going to be a fun new experience for her. So we went off to get some sushi for dinner and then back to our respective homes to get ready for the show. She had a phone date with Beautiful Boston Boy, so we were going to hit the show a little while after doors opened. This always makes me nervous since when I have been a hair late before, I've been relegated to some smokey corner behind a really tall boy. But we got there and there was almost NO ONE inside. That was pretty weird. So, we stood around and talked for a bit and then this weird music came on... and a big black cowl-ed figure rose in the middle of the stage with a scythe on the end of his guitar. He had a big skull mask on. Hmm. And then he began to do death metal. He had one of those satan-y roaring voices that sounds kind of like vomiting. You know, like that band from Germany that sings about lighting women on fire and raping them? And the first thing that went through my head was "oh shit." There was no fucking way I was going to be able to stay in the same room as this music. I was about to head to the bathroom and stay in there for the next half hour, when he broke into a little reggae ditty about his stuffed hippo, Mr. SnuggleTummy. It was the strangest, most interesting and perhaps most "ironic" music act I have ever seen. It was QUITE funny. This guy, dressed up alternately as Death or an Executioner sang happy little songs about bathing in the blood of peasant women and other death related songs and then satanic-vomit-voice songs about happy little things like butterflies and brussel sprouts. After he was through, I went back to find a poster and see who it was we'd just seen - and the tag line on his poster was "Brutal Folk." I'll say. (His name was "Nate Denver's Neck" for those who are interested) And then some girl and her band came out. And THEN Dirty Three came out! WOO! They put on such a great show! I could blather on and on about it, but I won't. Abby liked them too! That made me happy. I love introducing people to new music. I think I know what's going in my three cd alarm clock. ALL THREE DIRTY THREE ALBUMS THAT I OWN! I LOVE THEM! Ok, done being a skippy girl now. Sorry about that.

And, also, tonight was the night of hot guys. THere was this River Phoenix circa Running on Empty look-alike at the coffee shop today and then there was the Julian Lennon look-alike at the Dirty Three show. And THEN there was the bass player of Dirty Three - he was just cute. Sometimes I go for a long time without seeing anyone I feel like looking twice at... and I start to wonder if I'm a lesbian (I always forget that being a lesbian doesn't just mean NOT liking men - it means you have to LIKE women) and then I have days like these where I'm just a little sexpot short and stout...

prev & next