i t z i e . d i a r y l a n d . c o m

Where's my slave boy? // 2003-05-01


I have a cd player that goes off in the morning and plays music to wake me up. For the last month I've had the Amelie soundtrack and Manu Chau and the Magnetic Fields in there. And now, my life has a soundtrack that is constantly playing in my head with songs from one of those three albums. Am I sending dossier documents to South Dakota? "Reno Dakota there's not an iota of kindness in you..." Am I feeling all badass and sexy strutting down the street? "Bangin' on my boogie all the swing belongs to me..." Am I in a hurry? And upbeat Amelie tune swells in my head as I scurry towards the bus. I'm going to have to change the soundtrack soon, though.

So... I've still got this extra Dirty Three ticket. One of the good things about dating John was that he was always free. I could count on him to have nothing planned. I asked him to go to the show with me... and get this... he's going to an Xbox party instead. He is going to sit around playing video games with other microsofties instead of going downtown to watch an electric fiddler spit on stage. What the fuck is he thinking? What the fuck was I thinking when I started dating him? I can't even imagine myself dating a guy who watches TV, plays video games, and works at Microsoft anymore. I wonder if all of my other friends were looking at me going "what are you thinking?" the whole time I was dating him. It's not that he's a bad guy, it's just that he's such a bad match for me. But still, it was nice to have someone to demand to go with me to concerts and the like.

prev & next